Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5541
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5541  9th General Assembly

Short Description:  WIRELESS 911-SURCHARGE

House Sponsors
Rep. Donald L. Moffitt - Lisa M. Dugan - Mike Bost - David R. Leitch, Brandon W. Phelps, Naomi D. Jakobsson, Karen May and Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
50 ILCS 751/10
50 ILCS 751/17
50 ILCS 751/70

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Wireless Emergency Telephone Safety Act. Defines "Trust Fund". Provides that beginning January 1, 2013, (now, January 1, 2008) the monthly surcharge imposed on wireless carriers shall be $1.00, rather than $0.73. Removes provisions concerning amounts per surcharge to be deposited into specified funds. Requires the State Treasurer to deposit $0.80 per surcharge into the Wireless Service Emergency Fund for distribution to the 9-1-1 authorities and $0.18 per surcharge into the NG9-1-1 Service Equalization Trust Fund. Provides that 1% of the amounts collected may be distributed to the Illinois Commerce Commission to cover administrative costs. Further provides that in the case of a delinquent report, the Illinois Commerce Commission may impose a penalty on a carrier equal to the product of $0.1 (now, 1/2˘) and the number of subscribers served by the carrier, and that any penalty imposed shall be deposited into the NG9-1-1 Service Equalization Trust Fund. Provides that the Act is repealed on January 1, 2018 (now, April 1, 2013). Effective January 1, 2013.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2012HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  2/15/2012HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  2/28/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  2/29/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  2/29/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. David R. Leitch
  3/6/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  3/6/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  3/29/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top