Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4487
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4487  9th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Cynthia Soto - Robert W. Pritchard - Derrick Smith - Maria Antonia Berrios - Mary E. Flowers, Dena M. Carli, Elizabeth Hernandez, Mike Fortner, Jerry L. Mitchell, Luis Arroyo, Esther Golar, Karen A. Yarbrough, Arthur Turner, Robyn Gabel and Monique D. Davis

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
105 ILCS 5/34-18.43a new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Chicago School District Article of the School Code. Provides that there shall be a moratorium on school closings, consolidations, and phase-outs in the school district in the 2012-2013 school year. Provides that any of these actions that are subsequently appropriate must be carried out no sooner than the end of the 2013-2014 school year, subject to any new set of requirements adopted by the General Assembly. During this moratorium period, requires the district to establish polices that address and remedy the academic performance of schools in which Illinois Standards Achievement Test scores reflect students performing at or below 75%. Requires these policies to establish clear criteria or processes for establishing criteria for making school facility decisions and include clear criteria for setting priorities with respect to school openings, school closings, school consolidations, school turnarounds, school phase-outs, school construction, school repairs, school modernizations, school boundary changes, and other related school facility decisions, including the encouragement of multiple community uses for school space. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/31/2012HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Cynthia Soto
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Derrick Smith
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dena M. Carli
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry L. Mitchell
  1/31/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  1/31/2012HouseFirst Reading
  1/31/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Esther Golar
  2/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  2/21/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  2/28/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/28/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Monique D. Davis
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top