Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4467
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4467  9th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. William Davis - Rosemary Mulligan - Elizabeth Hernandez, Camille Y. Lilly, Esther Golar, Mary E. Flowers and Marcus C. Evans, Jr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
225 ILCS 25/4from Ch. 111, par. 2304
225 ILCS 25/18from Ch. 111, par. 2318

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Dental Practice Act. Provides that a dental hygienist may be employed or retained by a health care facility, program, or nonprofit organization to perform dental hygiene services without the patient first being examined by a licensed dentist if the dental hygienist (i) has engaged in active practice of clinical dental hygiene for a minimum of 2,400 hours in the past 18 months or a career total of 3,000 hours, (ii) has entered into a collaborative agreement with a licensed dentist, (iii) had documented participation in course in infection control and medical emergencies, and (iv) maintains current CPR certification. Authorizes the dental hygienist to perform limited specified services. Provides that a licensed dentist may not have a collaborative agreement with more than 2 dental hygienist unless otherwise authorized by the Board. Provides that the collaborative agreement must (i) include certain provisions and it must be signed and maintained by the dentist, the dental hygienist, and the facility, program, or organization, (ii) be reviewed yearly, and (iii) be made available to the Board upon request. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/30/2012HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. William Davis
  1/30/2012HouseFirst Reading
  1/30/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/6/2012HouseAssigned to Health Care Licenses Committee
  3/8/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Mulligan
  3/8/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  3/8/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/8/2012HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  3/9/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Esther Golar
  3/9/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/9/2012HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/25/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  8/3/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top