Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0416
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0416  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Thomas Holbrook - Patricia Bailey - Annazette Collins, Daniel V. Beiser, Brandon W. Phelps, Robin Kelly, Lisa M. Dugan, Michael K. Smith, Wyvetter H. Younge, William Davis, Arthur L. Turner and Careen M Gordon

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
215 ILCS 5/155.42 new
215 ILCS 5/155.43 new
815 ILCS 505/2Zfrom Ch. 121 1/2, par. 262Z

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Insurance Code. Requires automobile insurers to allow policyholders to choose repair facilities. Allows the insurer to recommend facilities so long as the insurer informs the insured or claimant at the same time of the insured's or claimant's right to choose the facility. Prohibits the adjuster for the motor vehicle from being employed by the facility or having any direct authority over the facility's recommendations or decisions relating to the repair of the motor vehicle if the insurer owns an interest in that facility. Provides for civil penalties. Makes a violation a violation of the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act and amends the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act to include the violations. Requires repair facilities in which an insurer owns an interest to file an annual report delineating the number of repairs and the dollar amount when the motor vehicle owner was an insured or claimant of the insurer with the ownership interest, and those repairs as a percentage of the total repairs. Requires the Secretary to maintain the information in the reports as confidential.

DateChamber Action
  1/26/2005HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  1/26/2005HouseFirst Reading
  1/26/2005HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/2/2005HouseAssigned to Consumer Protection Committee
  2/10/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  2/17/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia Bailey
  2/17/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Annazette Collins
  3/3/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  3/8/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robin Kelly
  3/9/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  3/10/2005HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Michael K. Smith
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Wyvetter H. Younge
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Arthur L. Turner
  3/16/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Careen M Gordon
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top