Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2551
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB2551  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jack D. Franks - Thomas Holbrook - Patrick J Verschoore - Karen A. Yarbrough, Terry R. Parke, William B. Black, Jim Sacia, Timothy L. Schmitz, John A. Fritchey and Ruth Munson

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 200/15-165
30 ILCS 805/8.29 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Property Tax Code. Changes the exemption for disabled veterans. The exemption now applies only to property up to an assessed value of $58,000 owned and used exclusively as a home by a disabled veteran found eligible for specially adapted housing by the federal government or the spouse or unmarried surviving spouse of the veteran. This amendatory Act provides that the exemption applies, for taxable years 2005 and thereafter, to the first $58,000 in assessed value of property owned and used exclusively by a disabled veteran, or the spouse or unmarried surviving spouse of the veteran, as a home. Provides that a "disabled veteran" is a veteran who has been awarded a 100% service-connected disability, permanent and total with no further examinations, by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. Amends the State Mandates Act to require implementation without reimbursement.

DateChamber Action
  2/18/2005HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jack D. Franks
  2/18/2005HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2005HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/23/2005HouseAssigned to Revenue Committee
  3/10/2005HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/8/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terry R. Parke
  2/21/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William B. Black
  2/21/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  2/21/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J Verschoore
  2/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Sacia
  3/3/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Timothy L. Schmitz
  3/3/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John A. Fritchey
  3/3/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ruth Munson
  3/23/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top