Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2486
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2486  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Deb Conroy - Sara Feigenholtz - Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz - Elizabeth Hernandez - Michelle Mussman, Robyn Gabel, Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Kelly M. Cassidy, Terra Costa Howard, Martin J. Moylan, Ann M. Williams, Natalie A. Manley, Mary Edly-Allen, Kathleen Willis, Diane Pappas, Frances Ann Hurley, Rita Mayfield, Katie Stuart, Emanuel Chris Welch, Karina Villa, Delia C. Ramirez, Bob Morgan, Robert Rita, Theresa Mah, Yehiel M. Kalish, Will Guzzardi, Tom Demmer, Ryan Spain, Amy Grant, Jonathan Carroll, Maurice A. West, II, Monica Bristow, Lindsey LaPointe and Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Mental Health Modernization and Access Improvement Act. Requires the Department of Healthcare and Family Services to apply for a Medicaid waiver or State Plan amendment, or both, within 6 months after the effective date of the Act to develop and implement a regulatory framework that allows, incentivizes, and fosters payment reform models for all Medicaid community mental health services provided by community mental health centers or behavioral health clinics. Requires the regulatory framework to: (i) allow for and incentivize service innovation that is aimed at producing the best health outcomes for Medicaid enrollees with mental health conditions; (ii) reward high-quality care through annual incentive payments to community mental health centers and behavioral health clinics; (iii) require community mental health centers and behavioral health clinics to report on specified quality and outcomes metrics; and other matters. Provides that all documentation and reporting requirements under the regulatory framework must comply with the federal Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 and the State mental health parity requirements under the Illinois Insurance Code. Contains provisions concerning quality and outcomes metrics reporting; data sharing; the establishment of a Stakeholder Quality and Outcomes Metrics Development Working Group; statewide in-person trainings to ensure provider readiness for the regulatory framework; quality and patient safety protections; implementation timeline; certification of community mental health centers that opt into the regulatory framework; and other matters. Provides that the Act shall be implemented upon federal approval and only to the extent that federal financial participation is available. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/13/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/13/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/21/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  2/21/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/26/2019HouseAssigned to Mental Health Committee
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Pappas
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karina Villa
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  2/27/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/6/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Yehiel M. Kalish
  3/8/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/8/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  3/13/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  3/14/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  3/18/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/21/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  3/21/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Monica Bristow
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  8/7/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top