Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2168
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2168  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  PROP TX-RENTAL HOUSING

House Sponsors
Rep. Sara Feigenholtz - Michael J. Zalewski - Arthur Turner - Ann M. Williams - Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Curtis J. Tarver, II, Diane Pappas, Camille Y. Lilly, Lindsey LaPointe and Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 200/15-178 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Property Tax Code. Provides for a reduction in the equalized assessed value of newly-constructed or rehabilitated rental property if the owner of the residential real property commits that, for a period of 10 years, at least 15% of the multifamily building's units will have rents that are at or below maximum rents and are occupied by households with household incomes at or below maximum income limits. Provides that the chief county assessment officer of a county with 3,000,000 or more inhabitants shall establish such a program, and the chief county assessment officer of a county with less than 3,000,000 inhabitants shall establish such a program upon passage of an ordinance by a majority vote of the county board. Sets forth application requirements and the amount of the reduction. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/6/2019HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  2/6/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/6/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  2/6/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/6/2019HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/7/2019HouseFirst Reading
  2/7/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/19/2019HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  2/28/2019HouseTo Property Tax Subcommittee
  3/29/2019HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/3/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  5/9/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  5/23/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Pappas
  5/24/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  7/22/2019HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  10/4/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  10/10/2019HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top