Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0030
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB0030  101st General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Melinda Bush - Ann Gillespie - Laura Ellman - Ram Villivalam - Iris Y. Martinez, Laura Fine, Omar Aquino, Cristina Castro, Heather A. Steans, Laura M. Murphy, Mattie Hunter, Antonio Muñoz, Kimberly A. Lightford, Michael E. Hastings, Toi W. Hutchinson, Don Harmon, Christopher Belt and Elgie R. Sims, Jr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Workplace Transparency Act. Provides that employers shall not require an employee or prospective employee to sign a nondisclosure agreement that contains any provision that has the purpose or effect of: limiting the disclosure of sexual misconduct, retaliation, or unlawful discrimination; suppressing information relevant to an investigation into a claim of sexual misconduct, retaliation, or unlawful discrimination; impairing the ability of any person to report a claim of sexual misconduct, retaliation, or unlawful discrimination; or waiving a substantive or procedural right or remedy of any person relating to a claim of sexual misconduct, retaliation, or unlawful discrimination. Provides that any such provision is void as against public policy and unenforceable, and that agreements that contain such provisions and were entered into before the effective date of the Act are voidable by a party who entered into the agreement under specified circumstances.

DateChamber Action
  1/10/2019SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Melinda Bush
  1/10/2019SenateFirst Reading
  1/10/2019SenateReferred to Assignments
  1/23/2019SenateAssigned to Judiciary
  1/29/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Ann Gillespie
  2/5/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Ellman
  2/7/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Fine
  2/14/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam
  2/14/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/14/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  2/14/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Heather A. Steans
  2/15/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  2/19/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  2/19/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Antonio Muñoz
  2/20/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  3/6/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Iris Y. Martinez
  3/20/2019SenateDo Pass Judiciary; 008-000-000
  3/20/2019SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 21, 2019
  3/20/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  3/28/2019SenateSecond Reading
  3/28/2019SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 3, 2019
  4/1/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Toi W. Hutchinson
  4/9/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Don Harmon
  4/9/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt
  4/12/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  4/12/2019SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  1/13/2021SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top