Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0024
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB0024  101st General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Terry Link - Ram Villivalam - Melinda Bush - Linda Holmes - Jacqueline Y. Collins, Cristina Castro, David Koehler, Michael E. Hastings, Bill Cunningham, Laura M. Murphy, Scott M. Bennett, Laura Fine, Julie A. Morrison, Andy Manar, Rachelle Crowe, Omar Aquino, Thomas Cullerton, Robert Peters, Emil Jones, III, Pat McGuire, Christopher Belt, Patricia Van Pelt, Kimberly A. Lightford and Steven M. Landek

House Sponsors
(Rep. Jay Hoffman - Thaddeus Jones - Kathleen Willis - Curtis J. Tarver, II, Michael Halpin, Barbara Hernandez, André Thapedi, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Carol Ammons, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Diane Pappas, Bob Morgan and Sue Scherer)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  8/9/2019SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 101-0294

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
625 ILCS 5/18c-7402from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18c-7402

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that no rail carrier shall operate a train or light engine used in connection with the movement of freight unless it has an operating crew consisting of at least 2 individuals. Provides that the minimum freight train crew size shall remain in effect until a federal law or rule encompassing the subject matter has been adopted. Grants the Illinois Commerce Commission the power to conduct evidentiary hearings, make findings, and issue and enforce orders, including sanctions, with respect to freight train crew member size. Provides that "train or light engine" does not include trains operated by a hostler service or utility employees.

 Fiscal Note (Illinois Commerce Commission)
 The Commision does not anticipate needing additional resources to fulfill the requirements of this bill.

DateChamber Action
  1/9/2019SenatePrefiled with Secretary by Sen. Terry Link
  1/9/2019SenateFirst Reading
  1/9/2019SenateReferred to Assignments
  1/24/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam
  1/29/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  1/29/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Linda Holmes
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  1/30/2019SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  1/31/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Fine
  1/31/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison
  2/4/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Andy Manar
  2/4/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Rachelle Crowe
  2/5/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/5/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  2/6/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Robert Peters
  2/6/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Emil Jones, III
  2/13/2019SenateAssigned to Transportation
  2/19/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pat McGuire
  3/5/2019SenatePostponed - Transportation
  3/12/2019SenateRe-referred to Assignments
  3/12/2019SenateRe-assigned to Executive
  3/12/2019SenateWaive Posting Notice
  3/13/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt
  3/13/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  3/13/2019SenatePostponed - Executive
  3/14/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  3/14/2019SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steven M. Landek
  3/20/2019SenateDo Pass Executive; 012-005-001
  3/20/2019SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 21, 2019
  3/27/2019SenateSecond Reading
  3/27/2019SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading March 28, 2019
  4/11/2019SenateThird Reading - Passed; 035-019-000
  4/11/2019HouseArrived in House
  4/11/2019HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  4/11/2019HouseFirst Reading
  4/11/2019HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/30/2019HouseAssigned to Transportation: Regulation, Roads & Bridges Committee
  4/30/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  5/1/2019HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  5/2/2019HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  5/3/2019HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  5/3/2019HouseAlternate Chief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  5/7/2019HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Transportation: Regulation, Roads & Bridges Committee; 009-004-000
  5/8/2019HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  5/8/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  5/9/2019HouseFiscal Note Requested by Rep. Margo McDermed
  5/9/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  5/13/2019HouseFiscal Note Filed
  5/14/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  5/15/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  5/15/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  5/16/2019HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  5/16/2019HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  5/16/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Pappas
  5/21/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  5/21/2019HouseRemoved from Short Debate Status
  5/21/2019HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Standard Debate
  5/21/2019HouseThird Reading - Standard Debate - Passed 077-036-001
  5/21/2019SenatePassed Both Houses
  5/21/2019HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  6/19/2019SenateSent to the Governor
  8/9/2019SenateGovernor Approved
  8/9/2019SenateEffective Date January 1, 2020
  8/9/2019SenatePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 101-0294

Back To Top