Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0855
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB0855  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Ann M. Williams - Curtis J. Tarver, II - Maurice A. West, II, Dagmara Avelar, Michelle Mussman, Kelly M. Cassidy and Anna Moeller

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Legislative Accessibility Act. Provides that the General Assembly shall make all efforts to increase the accessibility of the General Assembly for people with disabilities. Provides that the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate shall each appoint an accessibility coordinator who, in consultation with the Architect of the Capitol, shall be responsible for addressing accessibility needs for his or her corresponding house. Provides that the Illinois General Assembly website shall include either an email address, webform, or other similar mechanism to request reasonable accommodations to meet the accessibility needs of people with disabilities attending legislative events. Establishes the General Assembly Accessibility Task Force. Provides for the membership and meetings of the Task Force. Provides that members and ex officio members of the Task Force shall serve without compensation. Provides administrative support for the Task Force. Provides that the Task Force shall examine issues concerning accessibility of persons with a disability. Requires the Task Force to make recommendations to the General Assembly concerning General Assembly accessibility no later than December 31, 2021. Repeals specified provisions January 1, 2023. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/10/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/10/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  3/2/2021HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  3/8/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  3/9/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II

Back To Top