Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5826
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5826  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr. - Emanuel Chris Welch - Mary E. Flowers - Debbie Meyers-Martin, Justin Slaughter, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Carol Ammons, André Thapedi, La Shawn K. Ford, Sonya M. Harper, Kambium Buckner, Nicholas K. Smith, William Davis, Thaddeus Jones, LaToya Greenwood, Jawaharial Williams, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Camille Y. Lilly and Lakesia Collins

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Police Department Nonlethal Force Policy Act. Provides that the Illinois State Police, Secretary of State Police Department, and each mass transit district police force, university police force, county sheriff's office, and municipal police department of this State shall develop a plan or strategy for the use of nonlethal force on a person suspected of committing or having committed a criminal offense or resisting arrest. The plan or strategy shall include the use of new technologies and alternatives to the use of firearms in apprehending a suspect or in protecting the officer from harm by a suspect.

DateChamber Action
  8/27/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  8/31/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  9/1/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  9/11/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  11/10/2020HouseFirst Reading
  11/10/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top