Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5444
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB5444  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Suzanne M. Ness - Martin McLaughlin, Dan Ugaste, Michael J. Kelly, Harry Benton, Mary Gill, Mary Beth Canty, Katie Stuart, Matt Hanson, Steven Reick, Joe C. Sosnowski, Christopher "C.D." Davidsmeyer, Janet Yang Rohr, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Jawaharial Williams, Lance Yednock, Fred Crespo, Abdelnasser Rashid, Theresa Mah, Mark L. Walker and Maura Hirschauer

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Mary Edly-Allen)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  5/17/2024SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
55 ILCS 5/3-6043 new
65 ILCS 5/11-1.5-5
65 ILCS 5/11-1.5-10
65 ILCS 5/11-1.5-15
65 ILCS 5/11-1.5-20

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Co-Responder Pilot Program Division of the Illinois Municipal Code. Adds the McHenry County Sheriff's Office to the offices to which the Division is applicable, including that the Office shall establish, subject to appropriation, a co-responder unit no later than 6 months after the effective date of the amendatory Act, including the hiring of personnel as provided in the Division. Makes conforming changes, including in the Counties Code. Provides that, along with the duties described elsewhere in the Division, the unit's social workers are responsible for following up with victims (rather than conducting follow-up visits for victims) who may benefit from mental or behavioral health services.

DateChamber Action
  2/9/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Suzanne M. Ness
  2/9/2024HouseFirst Reading
  2/9/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/28/2024HouseAssigned to Police & Fire Committee
  3/22/2024HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Police & Fire Committee; 012-000-000
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Kelly
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Benton
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Gill
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Beth Canty
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  3/22/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Matt Hanson
  3/22/2024HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/11/2024HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/11/2024HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe C. Sosnowski
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christopher "C.D." Davidsmeyer
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/11/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  4/16/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  4/17/2024HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 112-000-000
  4/18/2024SenateArrive in Senate
  4/18/2024SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/18/2024SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Mary Edly-Allen
  4/18/2024SenateFirst Reading
  4/18/2024SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/24/2024SenateAssigned to Appropriations- Public Safety and Infrastructure
  4/30/2024SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As May 10, 2024
  5/10/2024SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As May 17, 2024
  5/17/2024SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments

Back To Top