Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5394
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5394  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Justin Slaughter - Carol Ammons, LaToya Greenwood, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Rita Mayfield and Nicholas K. Smith

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
35 ILCS 5/704A
30 ILCS 105/5.930 new
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-25
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-30
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-35
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-40
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-45
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-50
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-85
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-95
730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-120 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Securing All Futures for Equitable Reinvestment in Communities Act. Provides legislative intent. Creates the Securing All Futures for Equitable Reinvestment Tax Credit Pilot Program Act. Provides that an applicant that hires certain formerly incarcerated individuals during the incentive period may apply for a tax credit against the applicant's withholding tax liability. Provides that the savings from the changes made to the Unified Code of Corrections shall be deposited into the Securing All Futures for Equitable Reinvestment (SAFER) Communities Fund for the purpose of funding the program. Amends the Unified Code of Corrections to reduce the sentencing ranges for all classes of felonies, and to remove minimum sentences for Class 4 felonies and Class A and Class B misdemeanors. Provides that the provisions of the Act apply to offenses committed before the effective date of this Act, and to offenses committed on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act. Provides for resentencing of currently incarcerated persons based on these changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/18/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/11/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  3/17/2020HouseAssigned to Judiciary - Criminal Committee
  6/8/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  7/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  7/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top