Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2898
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2898  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  NONFIREWORKS

House Sponsors
Rep. Robert Rita - Dave Severin - Kambium Buckner - Jehan Gordon-Booth - Martin J. Moylan, Joe Sosnowski, Jay Hoffman, Jonathan Carroll, Andrew S. Chesney and Michael J. Zalewski

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
425 ILCS 30/5 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Fireworks Regulation Act of Illinois. Provides that the storage, possession, sale, and use of nonfireworks shall be permitted at all times throughout the State. Requires regulation of nonfireworks, including their storage and sale, to be consistent with the standards set forth in the National Fire Protection Association's Code for the Manufacture, Transportation, Storage and Retail Sales of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic Articles, 2006 edition. Provides that the amendatory provisions do not apply to the City of Chicago. Defines "nonfireworks".

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
425 ILCS 30/5 new
Adds reference to:
425 ILCS 30/2from Ch. 127 1/2, par. 102
425 ILCS 35/1from Ch. 127 1/2, par. 127

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Amends the Fireworks Regulation Act of Illinois and the Pyrotechnic Use Act. Provides that "fireworks" and "consumer fireworks" do not include handheld or ground-based sparklers that are nonexplosive and nonaerial, sometimes producing a crackling or whistling effect, and containing 75 grams or fewer of pyrotechnic composition per tube or a total of 500 grams or fewer for multiple tubes (rather than only sparklers) or wood stick or wire sparklers containing not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic mixture per item. Effective January 1, 2022.

DateChamber Action
  2/18/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Robert Rita
  2/19/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/19/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  3/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  3/3/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Consumer Protection Committee
  3/9/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Robert Rita
  3/9/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/10/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/11/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Consumer Protection Committee
  3/22/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Consumer Protection Committee; by Voice Vote
  3/22/2021HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate Consumer Protection Committee; 005-001-000
  4/8/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/21/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/21/2021HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  4/23/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/9/2022HouseApproved for Consideration Rules Committee; 004-000-000
  2/9/2022HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/3/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  3/3/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  3/3/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  3/4/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top