Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5542
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5542  9th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Donald L. Moffitt - Lisa M. Dugan - Jil Tracy - Carol A. Sente - Mike Bost, Brandon W. Phelps, David R. Leitch, Naomi D. Jakobsson, Karen May and Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
30 ILCS 105/5.811 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Next Generation Emergency Telephone System Act. Makes legislative findings. Defines terms. Provides that, in order to handle the increasing volume and diversity of information that can be made available to assist call takers and responders in an emergency, public agencies may update their current 9-1-1 systems to a Next Generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1) system. Sets forth requirements for a strategic plan that must be developed. Creates the Illinois Next Generation 9-1-1 Network (INGN) to support NG9-1-1 operations and be governed by a board of directors. Sets forth the powers and duties of the Board. Sets forth procedures and requirements for the incorporation of the 9-1-1 systems, capabilities, accessibility, implementation, areas to be served, and joint agreements. Provides for certain exemptions from civil liabilities. Provides that divulging certain confidential information and making a false complaint are offenses punishable under the Criminal Code of 1961. Requires that all NG9-1-1 systems support Non-Voice-Centric Emergency Services (NVC). Contains provisions concerning advertising emergency services and funding. Amends the State Finance Act. Creates the 9-1-1 Service Equalization Trust Fund in the State Treasury. Effective January 1, 2013.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2012HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  2/15/2012HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  2/23/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  2/28/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol A. Sente
  2/28/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  2/29/2012HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  2/29/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David R. Leitch
  3/6/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  3/6/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  3/29/2012HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.
  1/8/2013HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top