Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SJRCA0026
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SJRCA0026  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Julie A. Morrison - Heather A. Steans - Andy Manar - David Koehler - Laura M. Murphy, Jim Oberweis, Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant, Melinda Bush, Daniel Biss, Chris Nybo, Dale A. Righter, Dan McConchie, Cristina Castro, Michael Connelly, Ira I. Silverstein, Karen McConnaughay, William E. Brady, Paul Schimpf, Jason A. Barickman, Sue Rezin, Neil Anderson, Dale Fowler, John F. Curran, Chuck Weaver, Jil Tracy, Thomas Cullerton, Bill Cunningham, Scott M. Bennett, Steve Stadelman, Dave Syverson, Chapin Rose, Pamela J. Althoff, Steven M. Landek, Tim Bivins, Tom Rooney, Kyle McCarter, John G. Mulroe, William R. Haine and Wm. Sam McCann

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2019SenateSession Sine Die
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 
ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 3 

Synopsis As Introduced
Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Provides that provisions concerning legislative redistricting apply to Congressional Districts. Requires that districts, in addition to being compact, contiguous, and substantially equal in population, must also comply with the federal Constitution and law, provide racial and ethnic minorities with equal opportunity to participate in the political process, provide racial and ethnic minorities who constitute less than a voting-age majority of a district with an opportunity to substantially influence the outcome of an election, respect geographic integrity of units of local government, respect communities sharing common social or economic interests, and not discriminate against or in favor of any political party or individual. Replaces the current method of legislative redistricting with the following: a 16-member commission, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the most senior Supreme Court Judge of a different political party in accordance with specified criteria, shall adopt and file with the Secretary of State redistricting plans for Legislative, Representative, and Congressional Districts following a series of public hearings by August 1 of the year following a federal decennial census; permits the public to submit maps during the map drawing process for consideration by the Commission; and, if a redistricting plan is not adopted by August 1 of the year following a federal decennial census, then a seventeenth member shall be appointed to the Commission and redistricting plans shall be filed by September 1. Adds provisions concerning the membership of the Commission and budgetary matters related to the Commission. Removes the requirement for each Legislative District to be divided into two Representative Districts. Effective upon being declared adopted and applicable to redistricting beginning in 2021 and to the election of General Assembly members beginning in 2022.

DateChamber Action
  3/13/2018SenateFiled with Secretary
  3/13/2018SenateReferred to Assignments
  3/13/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Heather A. Steans
  3/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jim Oberweis
  3/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  3/29/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant
  4/3/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Andy Manar
  4/3/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  4/6/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  4/9/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  4/10/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Daniel Biss
  4/13/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chris Nybo
  4/16/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale A. Righter
  4/17/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan McConchie
  4/18/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  4/18/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael Connelly
  4/18/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ira I. Silverstein
  4/18/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Karen McConnaughay
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William E. Brady
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Paul Schimpf
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason A. Barickman
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John F. Curran
  4/19/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chuck Weaver
  4/23/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  4/23/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  4/24/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  4/26/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  4/26/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve Stadelman
  4/26/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  4/26/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chapin Rose
  4/27/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  4/27/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steven M. Landek
  4/27/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Tim Bivins
  4/30/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Tom Rooney
  5/3/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kyle McCarter
  5/3/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John G. Mulroe
  5/3/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William R. Haine
  5/3/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Wm. Sam McCann
  1/9/2019SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top