

HR0426 LRB099 12097 GRL 34769 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives recognize young children as one of the State's 4 most precious and valuable resources; and

WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of Young Children is the nation's largest early childhood organization; the association seeks to serve and act on behalf of the rights, needs, and well-being of all young children, with a primary focus on the provision of educational and developmental needs and services; and

WHEREAS, The Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children (ILAEYC) is the State affiliate of the National Association for the Education of Young Children; ILAEYC has over 3,100 members and 17 local affiliate chapters around the State dedicated to the same mission; and

WHEREAS, The National Association for the Education of Young Children has designated the week of April 12-18 as the Week of the Young Child; the month of April is designated as Month of the Young Child in the State of Illinois; and

WHEREAS, The purpose of the Month of the Young Child is to focus public attention on the needs of young children and their

- 1 families and to recognize the individuals, early childhood
- 2 programs, and services that are dedicated to meeting those
- 3 needs; and
- WHEREAS, There are members of the organization, such as
- 5 teachers, program directors, school administrators, agency
- 6 personnel, college faculty, and others, who continually go
- above and beyond what is expected to see that these needs are
- 8 met; and
- 9 WHEREAS, These individuals are considered to be true
- 10 Children's Champions, who go further than anyone else to make a
- 11 positive difference to the lives of children everywhere; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The actions of Lee Eklund of Southern Illinois
- 13 AEYC (Carbondale); Andrea Bierman of Spirit of Illinois
- (Charleston); Lou Anne Burton of East Central AEYC (Urbana);
- 15 Leigh Egger of Quad Cities AEYC (East Moline); Jacqueline
- 16 Miller of South Suburban AEYC (Chicago Ridge); Kathie Raiborn
- of Heart of Illinois AEYC (Peoria); and Laurie Rhodes of
- Capitol Area AEYC (Elkhart) represent shining examples of those
- 19 in our communities doing good things for children; these
- 20 individuals have been nominated by their local affiliate
- 21 chapters and designated by the Illinois Association for the
- 22 Education of Young Children as Illinois 2015 Children's
- 23 Champions; therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
 2 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
 3 recognize the Illinois 2015 Children's Champions and their
 4 dedication, hard work, and significant contributions to the
 5 State of Illinois; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of the Illinois 2015 Children's Champions in recognition of their efforts.