

HR0402 LRB099 11915 GRL 34113 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

Wayne, and Woodford counties; and

20

2 WHEREAS, The November 17, 2013 tornado outbreak was the deadliest and costliest in Illinois to occur in the month of 3 4 November and fourth largest for the State overall; and 5 WHEREAS, Severe weather during the tornado outbreak caused 6 over 100 injuries and 11 fatalities, 8 of which were tornado 7 related: and 8 WHEREAS, With damage estimated at approximately \$1.6 9 billion, the tornado outbreak became the seventh weather event 10 and fifth tornado outbreak in the United States to accrue over \$1 billion in damage that year; and 11 12 WHEREAS, Tornadoes alone were responsible for \$1.067 13 billion in damage, with the EF4 tornado that struck Washington, Illinois accounting for \$935 million of the total; and 14 15 WHEREAS, On January 9, 2014, the Federal Emergency 16 Management Agency notified the State that it was denying a \$6.1 17 million request for local governments on the grounds that the 18 damage wasn't severe enough; this decision impacted Champaign, Douglas, Grundy, Massac, Tazewell, Vermilion, Washington, 19

- 1 WHEREAS, The Federal Emergency Management Agency twice
- 2 denied disaster funding to Harrisburg after it was demolished
- 3 by tornadoes in 2012; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Illinois Senators Dick Durbin and Mark Kirk have
- 5 introduced the Fairness in Federal Disaster Declarations Act;
- 6 both senators say that the current system for delivering
- 7 federal disaster assistance funds discriminates against
- 8 smaller communities in states with large population centers;
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 11 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 12 urge Congress to pass the Fairness in Federal Disaster
- 13 Declarations Act to ensure that Illinois residents who are
- impacted by deadly and destructive weather receive the level of
- assistance that they require; and be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 17 delivered to the Speaker and Minority Leader of the United
- 18 States House of Representatives, the Majority and Minority
- 19 Leaders of the United States Senate, and the members of the
- 20 Illinois congressional delegation.