

HR0599 LRB098 14121 GRL 48724 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

20

21

of 2 members Illinois WHEREAS, The the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to honor the 1963 Northern Illinois 4 University football team on the occasion of the 5 anniversary of the team's Interstate Intercollegiate Athletic 6 Conference championship and NCAA College Division National 7 Championship; and

WHEREAS, The 1963 Northern Illinois University football team brought national attention to Northern Illinois University and the DeKalb community with a 10-0-0 season and recognition as the NCAA's College Division National Champions; and

WHEREAS, The accomplishments of the 1963 Huskies helped provide the building blocks for a new football stadium on campus, NCAA University Division status, affiliation with the Mid-American Conference, and the success the Northern Illinois University football program enjoys today; and

18 WHEREAS, The 1963 Huskies revolutionized the passing game 19 in college football with a wide-open shotgun offense; and

WHEREAS, Northern Illinois University senior quarterback George Bork became the first player in the history of college

- HR0599
- 1 football to compile 3,000 passing yards in a single season and
- 2 rewrote the Northern Illinois University and NCAA record books;
- 3 in 1999, Bork became the first Huskie inducted into the College
- 4 Football Hall of Fame; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The 1963 Huskies featured a strong defense that
- 6 held opponents to less than 10 points per game and outscored
- 7 their opponents by 24 points per game; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Northern Illinois University quarterback George
- 9 Bork, receivers Hugh Rohrschneider and Gary Stearns, and center
- 10 Robert Evans all received Little All-America honors; a record
- 11 11 players were named All-Interstate Intercollegiate Athletic
- 12 Conference performers; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The 1963 Huskies are and will continue to be
- 14 remembered at Northern Illinois University by the National
- 15 Championship flag erected in 2011 and a bronze plague dedicated
- on October 12, 2012; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Winning a National Championship takes dedication
- 18 from all members of the team; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The men who made up the 1963 Northern Illinois
- 20 University football team are to be commended for their unity
- and team strength; and

12

13

14

15

16

- 1 WHEREAS, The 1963 Huskie players included Jerry Andres, Joe Bertone, George Bork, Dave Broderick, John Broderick, Richard 2 3 Calkins, David Casey, Ron Christian, David Cudden, Jack Dean, 4 Robert Evans, Jeff Fort, Jack Frost, John Haar, Dennis 5 Harrison, Mike Henigan, Terry Henigan, David Herstedt, David 6 Hildebrandt, Ed Janoski, Herb Jennings, Robert Johnson, Robert 7 Kerby, Jerry Kerner, Lynn McCann, Neal McDonald, Daniel Meyer, 8 Jim Modglin, Dave Mulderink, Robert Owens, William Pelkey, Hugh 9 Rohrschneider, Jack Secord, Ken Slimko, Roger Smith, Roger 10 Stark, Gary Stearns, Arny Vesely, Stan Vesely, Tom Walz, and 11 Charles Wood; and
 - WHEREAS, The Huskies were led by innovative Head Coach Howard Fletcher; the assistant coaches were Dr. Robert Brigham, Dr. Mark Dean, Jack Pheanis, and John Wrenn; the trainer was Al Kranz; and the managers were Tom Bloom, Tom Dahlfors, and Robert Kapheim; therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 18 19 we commend and applaud the members of the 1963 Northern 20 Illinois University football team on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of their national championship; and be it further 21
- 22 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be

1 presented to each surviving member of the 1963 Northern

2 Illinois University football team.