

HR0504 LRB098 12704 GRL 47157 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

20

members of the Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the Illinois 4 School for the Deaf boys track team on being named team of the 5 year by USA Deaf Track & Field; and WHEREAS, The Illinois School for the Deaf track team has 6 7 been named national champion 7 times in the past 12 years; and 8 WHEREAS, Nine of the Illinois School for the Deaf athletes 9 finished in the top 8 in 13 of the 16 individual track events 10 among schools nationwide; and WHEREAS, The Illinois School for the Deaf relay teams 11 12 finished in the top 8 in all 4 events; and 13 WHEREAS, Head coach Joe Lee was named coach of the year and 14 Dwayne Esper was named Track Athlete of the Year; Dwayne 15 finished the year as the top 200-meter runner in the nation, the top high jumper in the nation, 2nd in the 100 meter dash, 16 17 and 2nd at the IHSA Class 1A track meet in the 200 meters; and WHEREAS, The team accomplishments this year include a 18 19 regular season record of 15-0, a Tiger Invitational 1st place

finish, a WIVC Conference 1st place finish, a Carrollton

- HR0504
- 1 Invitational 1st place finish, a IHSA Sectional 1st place
- finish, and a NDIAA National Championship; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Winning a national championship takes dedication
- 4 from all members of the team; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois School for the Deaf
- 6 track team are: Austin Bernal, Xavier Coleman, Dwayne Esper,
- 7 DeAndre Harris, Patrick Johnson, Adam Lyke, DaJaughn Matthews,
- 8 Andrew Nienhouse, John Potter, Shannone Turner, Dennis
- 9 Williams, Joshua Byther, Kawane Fleming, Jose Flores, Nathan
- 10 Michard, DeAndre Robinson, Casto Sanchez, Yahshua Caldwell,
- Jamal Garner, Daniel Guzman, Julbert Jaimes, Yolandi Johnson,
- 12 Jordan Manges, Eric Moore, Marshaun Murphy, Chase O'Dell, Kaleb
- 13 Sleeth, Emmanuel Vasquez, L.J. Watts, Gabe Deluna, Daniel
- 14 Harper, Edwin Lazaro, and Sherron White; the team manager is
- 15 Giovanni Espejel; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The team is coached by Joe Lee, who is assisted by
- 17 Nancy Miller; therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 19 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 20 we congratulate the Illinois School for the Deaf track team on
- 21 their great accomplishment and wish them continued success in
- 22 all their future endeavors; and be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 2 presented to the Illinois School for the Deaf track team as a
- 3 symbol of our respect and esteem.