

HJ0105 LRB098 21835 GRL 60692 r

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

2	WHEREAS, The Voting Rights Act of 1965 is an important
3	piece of legislation that emerged from the Civil Rights
4	Movement and was developed to ensure the fundamental right of
5	all citizens to vote; and

- WHEREAS, The Voting Rights Act was reauthorized by Congress in 2006 by an overwhelmingly bipartisan effort; and
- 8 WHEREAS, On June 25, 2013, in *Shelby County, Alabama v.*9 *Holder*, the United States Supreme Court eliminated a key
 10 provision of the Voting Rights Act which provided a screening
 11 mechanism for changes in voting procedures in certain states
 12 and jurisdictions with a history of voter discrimination; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The Supreme Court's decision in *Shelby County* has
 14 allowed states and jurisdictions to pursue and justify a range
 15 of changes to voting procedures which would infringe upon the
 16 right to vote and negatively and disproportionately impact
 17 minority voters; and
- 18 WHEREAS, These voting changes include enhanced and 19 aggressive voter identification laws, limitations on early 20 voting, and statewide voter purges; and

- 1 WHEREAS, On January 16, 2014, United States Senators
- 2 Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Richard Durbin (D-IL), and Chris Coons
- 3 (D-DE) introduced The Voting Rights Amendment Act, S. 1945,
- 4 that would strengthen the foundation of the original Voting
- 5 Rights Act and combat current and future discrimination; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Voting Rights Amendment Act represents a
- 7 bipartisan response to the Supreme Court's invitation in *Shelby*
- 8 County to update the Voting Rights Act and address the
- 9 demonstrated need for protections to the right to vote;
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 12 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
- 13 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that we urge Congress to pass S.
- 14 1945, the Voting Rights Amendment Act; and be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- delivered to the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United
- 17 States Senate, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the United
- 18 States House of Representatives, and the members of the
- 19 Illinois congressional delegation.