

HR1337 LRB097 23583 GRL 72615 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2 of the Illinois WHEREAS, The members House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate Rev. Derrius 4 Colvin Sr. and the congregation of the First Progressive Church 5 of Christ in Chicago on the occasion of the church's 60th 6 anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The rich history of the First Progressive Church of Christ began in February of 1954, when the church's pastor and officers purchased the property at 7257-59 South Wabash and 60 East 73rd Street in Chicago; the church's early years moved successfully and progressively and more auxiliaries and departments were added to meet the demands of the growing congregation including the Men's Workshop, Junior Choir, Children's Bible Hour Purity Class, and Cub and Boy Scouts; and

WHEREAS, By 1959, the membership had outgrown its present facility and another building program was begun; a \$50,000 addition was put on to the church in this successful endeavor; the congregation was able to burn the church's mortgage in 1967; and

WHEREAS, After the death of Bishop J.M. Heywood, the First Progressive Church of Christ continued its work under the leadership of Rev. Charles Snipes, who led the church until

- 1 September of 1973; during this time, 2 deacons were ordained,
- 2 Reynold Dillon and Gilbert Matthews; in October of 1979, Rev.
- 3 Bennett Wolfe was called to pastor the church; during Rev.
- Wolfe's tenure, the Bus Ministry was instituted; in April of
- 5 1977, Rev. Wolfe left First Progressive and leadership
- 6 responsibilities were taken on by Deacons Isaac May and Reynold
- 7 Dillon until the church elected Deacon W.I. Irving as Church
- 8 Chairman; during this time, Rev. John F. Sanders was acting
- 9 host minister; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In April of 1976, Rev. Fred L. Dade became the 11 pastor of the First Progressive Church of Christ; under his 12 leadership of preaching and teaching the Word of God, more 13 people were added to the church; during Pastor Dade's ministry, Rev. John F. Sanders was ordained as a Minister, while Ralph 14 Smith, Columbus Bowens, and Hurdylyn Woods were ordained as 15 16 deacons, and the J.M. Haywood Youth Workers, Angelic Choir, and Inspirational Choir were organized; in 1990, Eddie Dade was 17 18 ordained as a minister and Burnett E. Smith was ordained as a deacon; and 19
- 20 WHEREAS, After Pastor Dade's passing in July of 2002, Rev.
 21 Derrius Colvin Sr. became the pastor of the First Progressive
 22 Church of Christ in April of 2003; under his leadership, the
 23 church has experienced continually great progress spiritually,
 24 numerically, and financially; under his leadership, the

- Evangelism Ministry was formed; and
- WHEREAS, Rev. Derrius Colvin Sr. and the congregation of
- 3 the First Progressive Church of Christ serve as models of hard
- 4 work, integrity, and dedication for the people of the State of
- 5 Illinois; therefore, be it

HR1337

1

- 6 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 7 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 8 we congratulate Rev. Derrius Colvin Sr. and the congregation of
- 9 the First Progressive Church of Christ on the occasion of the
- 10 church's 60th anniversary and wish them continued success and
- 11 happiness in the future; and be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- presented to the congregation of the First Progressive Church
- of Christ as a symbol of our esteem and respect.