

HR0528 LRB097 12430 KXB 57218 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the Marengo 4 Community High School Girls Softball team on winning the IHSA 5 Class 3A State Championship; and

6 WHEREAS, The Indians won the 2011 Class 3A Softball State
7 Championship on June 11, 2011 at Eastside Sports Complex in
8 East Peoria; they defeated LaSalle-Peru High School 1-0 on a
9 sacrifice fly in the bottom of the 7th inning to win the
10 schools first ever State Championship in any sport; and

WHEREAS, The Head Coach is Dwain Nance; the Assistant Coaches are Shellie Kamminga, Mike Roudabush, Hal Simons, Wayne Montgomery, Randy Voss, and Matt Langton; the team managers are Marcy Behm and Devin Maney; and the team announcer is John Dujmovich; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Marengo Girls Softball team are: Reed Kartsen, Alysa Grude, Shae Kartsen, Bethany Hart, Larissa Pfeiffer, Lauren Roudabush, Stephanie Cartwright, Chole Montgomery, Baleigh La Sota, Megan Semro, Abby Kissack, Ashley Borhart, and Taylor Carlson; and

WHEREAS, The Indians were welcomed back to Marengo with an

- 1 escort into the community by the local police and fire
- 2 department, a parade, and dozens of tribute signs
- 3 congratulating them on their victory; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The deep support of the local community
- 5 exemplifies this historical victory not only for the Indians
- 6 but for all residents of Marengo; therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 8 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 9 we congratulate the Marengo Girls Softball team on their
- 10 victory and wish them continued success in all their future
- 11 endeavors; and be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- presented to the Marengo Community High School Girls Softball
- team as a symbol of our respect and esteem.