

HR0424

LRB097 12143 KXB 56250 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Pioneering men and women from Illinois, cowboys 3 such as Charles Goodnight, Wyatt Earp, John Dean Gillette and 4 many others, the stockyards at Chicago, and "the devil's rope" 5 barbwire all played integral roles in the establishment of 6 America's western frontiers; and

7 WHEREAS, The cowboy archetype transcends gender, 8 generations, ethnicity, geographic boundaries, and political 9 affiliations; and

10 WHEREAS, The cowboy embodies honesty, integrity, courage, 11 compassion, and determination, the core values expressed 12 within the Cowboy Code of Conduct, which inspires a pursuit of 13 the highest caliber of personal integrity, patriotism, and 14 strength of character; and

15 WHEREAS, The cowboy is a respectful steward of the land and 16 all its creatures; and

WHEREAS, Today's cowboys strive to preserve and perpetuate this unique element of America's heritage; and

19 WHEREAS, The cowboy continues to be an important part of 20 the economy, working on approximately 656,500 ranches in all 50 HR0424 -2- LRB097 12143 KXB 56250 r states; and

2 WHEREAS, Membership and participation continue to expand 3 in organizations that encompass, re-create, and celebrate the 4 life of the cowboy, both nationally and internationally; and

1

5 WHEREAS, The cowboy and his horse are central figures in 6 literature, art, film, poetry, photography, and music; and

7 WHEREAS, The cowboy is a true American icon, occupying a
8 central place in the public's imagination; therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 10 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 11 we express our support for the designation of July 23, 2011 as 12 "National Day of the Cowboy"; and be it further

13 RESOLVED, That we encourage the people of the State of 14 Illinois to observe the day with appropriate ceremonies and 15 activities; and be it further

16 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 17 delivered to the Governor of Illinois and the members of the 18 Illinois Congressional delegation.