

HR0180 LRB097 11124 KXB 52461 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The prescription of psychotropic drugs to treat psychiatric disorders has greatly increased in recent years; and

WHEREAS, The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has, since 2004, required manufacturers of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor antidepressant medications (SSRIs) to add black box warnings to their product labeling, advising that studies have shown an increase in suicidal thinking and behavior among children and adolescents suffering from psychiatric disorders; and

WHEREAS, Health authorities in Canada, the European Union, Australia, and Great Britain have issued warnings regarding the increased risk of self-harm or harm to others associated with SSRIs; and

WHEREAS, In recent years there have been numerous documented instances of suicides and acts of violence against others by persons reported to have been taking antidepressants and/or other psychotropic medications; therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 21 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

the Psychotropic Substances Suicide Risk Task Force be created within the Department of Public Health to (1) study and report upon the available research relevant to the reputed causal link between prescription of psychotropic substances and acts of suicide or violence against others; (2) to evaluate whether the State of Illinois' current policies with regard to psychotropic substances are adequate to protect the public; and (3) to make recommendations as to whether Illinois should consider adopting additional policies with regard to psychotropic substances, including but not limited to requiring county coroners to test for psychotropic substances in cases of suspected suicide; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the following members: 3 members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one of whom shall be appointed co-chairperson, and 3 members appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, one of whom shall be appointed co-chairperson; and 2 members appointed by the Director of the Department of Public Health, one a mental health advocate and one a psychiatric medical professional; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall take voluntary assistance and testimony from individuals and/or professional organizations and institutions; and be it further

1 RESOLVED, That the members of the Task Force shall serve 2 without compensation, but may be reimbursed for actual expenses 3 while serving on the Task Force from funds appropriated to the 4 Department of Public Health for that purpose; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall submit its final report to the Governor and the General Assembly no later than December 31, 2011.