

HR0150 LRB097 10996 KXB 52044 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

12

13

14

15

16

17

20

21

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the students, 4 staff, faculty, and alumni of Saint Patrick High School in 5 Chicago on the 150th anniversary of the institution; and

6 WHEREAS, The mission statement of Saint Patrick High School
7 is "Rooted in the spirit of St. John Baptist de La Salle,
8 Patron of all Teachers, Saint Patrick provides an educational
9 experience of the highest quality that enables young men to
10 develop their maximum potential as lifelong learners and
11 leaders of the Church and society"; and

WHEREAS, The school was established in 1861 by the De La Salle Christian Brothers; in 1953 it moved from Des Plaines and Adams to its current location at Belmont and Austin and now serves dozens of different parishes and grammar schools throughout the city and suburbs; it is recognized as Chicago's oldest, all-male, Catholic high school; and

WHEREAS, In 2004 the school became the first in the State to implement a mandatory drug-testing program; and

WHEREAS, Students from Saint Patrick High School have been awarded millions of dollars in college scholarships each year;

1 and

- 2 WHEREAS, The school has withstood the Chicago Fire, the 3 Great Depression, and many other challenges throughout their 4 150 years; the Christian Brothers stand prepared to continue 5 the proud Lasallian tradition throughout the 21st century; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Notable alumni of the High School include 7 legendary DePaul Basketball Coach Ray Meyer; Senior producer of 8 Dateline on NBC television, Jack Cloherty; Chicago Cubs team 9 physician, Dr. Steve Gryzlo; nationally known restaurateur 10 Phil Stefani; co-founder of Century 21, Lowell I. Stahl; and 11 many others in business, politics, and sports; therefore, be it
- 12 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ΟF THE 13 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 14 we wish the students, staff, faculty, and alumni of Saint Patrick High School a joyous time on this momentous occasion; 15 and be it further 16
- 17 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 18 presented to President Brother Konrad Diebold, FSC, and 19 Principal Dr. Joseph G. Schmidt of Saint Patrick High School, 20 as a symbol of our respect and esteem.