

97TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2011 and 2012

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT HC0016

Introduced , by Rep. Robert W. Pritchard

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2 ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 5

Proposes to amend the Legislature Article of the Illinois Constitution. Provides that, beginning in 2012, Representatives shall first be elected for terms of four years, then for terms of two years, and then for terms of four years. Adds that whenever a seat in the House of Representatives becomes vacant with more than 28 months remaining in the term, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment until the next general election, at which time a replacement shall be elected to serve for the remainder of the term. Provides that the General Assembly shall be a continuous body for a period beginning and ending at noon on the second Wednesday of January of consecutive odd-numbered years. Applies to the terms of Representatives elected in 2012 and thereafter.

LRB097 10164 RLJ 50353 e

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTIONCONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT

3 ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THE RESOLVED, 4 NINETY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE 5 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that there shall be submitted to the electors of the State for adoption or rejection at the general 6 election next occurring at least 6 months after the adoption of 7 8 this resolution a proposition to amend Sections 2 and 5 of 9 Article IV of the Illinois Constitution as follows:

10 ARTICLE IV

THE LEGISLATURE

12 (ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 2)

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

13 SECTION 2. LEGISLATIVE COMPOSITION

substantially equally over the State.

- (a) One Senator shall be elected from each Legislative District. Immediately following each decennial redistricting, the General Assembly by law shall divide the Legislative Districts as equally as possible into three groups. Senators from one group shall be elected for terms of four years, four years and two years; Senators from the second group, for terms of four years, two years and four years; and Senators from the third group, for terms of two years, four years and four years. The Legislative Districts in each group shall be distributed
 - (b) Each Legislative District shall be divided into two

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

- Representative Districts. In 1982 and every 1 2 thereafter One Representative shall be elected from each 3 Representative District for a term of two years. During each ten-year period, beginning with the general election in 2012, 4 5 Representatives shall first be elected for terms of four years, then for terms of two years, and then for terms of four years. 6
 - (c) To be eligible to serve as a member of the General Assembly, a person must be a United States citizen, at least 21 years old, and for the two years preceding his election or appointment a resident of the district which he is to represent. In the general election following a redistricting, a candidate for the General Assembly may be elected from any district which contains a part of the district in which he resided at the time of the redistricting and reelected if a resident of the new district he represents for 18 months prior to reelection.
 - (d) Within thirty days after a vacancy occurs, it shall be filled by appointment as provided by law. If the vacancy is in Senatorial or Representative office with more twenty-eight months remaining in the term, the appointed Senator or Representative shall serve until the next general election, at which time a Senator or Representative shall be elected to serve for the remainder of the term. If the vacancy is in any other Senatorial or a Representative office or in any other Senatorial office, the appointment shall be for the remainder of the term. An appointee to fill a vacancy shall be

- a member of the same political party as the person he succeeds.
- 2 (e) No member of the General Assembly shall receive
- 3 compensation as a public officer or employee from any other
- 4 governmental entity for time during which he is in attendance
- 5 as a member of the General Assembly.
- No member of the General Assembly during the term for which
- 7 he was elected or appointed shall be appointed to a public
- 8 office which shall have been created or the compensation for
- 9 which shall have been increased by the General Assembly during
- 10 that term.
- 11 (Source: Amendment adopted at general election November 4,
- 12 1980.)
- 13 (ILCON Art. IV, Sec. 5)
- 14 SECTION 5. SESSIONS
- 15 (a) The General Assembly shall convene each year on the
- 16 second Wednesday of January. The General Assembly shall be a
- 17 continuous body for a period beginning and ending at noon on
- 18 the second Wednesday of January of consecutive odd-numbered
- 19 years. during the term for which members of the House of
- 20 Representatives are elected.
- 21 (b) The Governor may convene the General Assembly or the
- 22 Senate alone in special session by a proclamation stating the
- 23 purpose of the session; and only business encompassed by such
- 24 purpose, together with any impeachments or confirmation of
- 25 appointments shall be transacted. Special sessions of the

- 1 General Assembly may also be convened by joint proclamation of
- 2 the presiding officers of both houses, issued as provided by
- 3 law.
- 4 (c) Sessions of each house of the General Assembly and
- 5 meetings of committees, joint committees and legislative
- 6 commissions shall be open to the public. Sessions and committee
- 7 meetings of a house may be closed to the public if two-thirds
- 8 of the members elected to that house determine that the public
- 9 interest so requires; and meetings of joint committees and
- 10 legislative commissions may be so closed if two-thirds of the
- 11 members elected to each house so determine.
- 12 (Source: Illinois Constitution.)

13 SCHEDULE

- 14 This Constitutional Amendment takes effect upon being
- declared adopted in accordance with Section 7 of the Illinois
- 16 Constitutional Amendment Act and applies to the terms of
- 17 Representatives elected in 2012 and thereafter.