

SR0621 LRB096 19939 KXB 35415 r

1 SENATE RESOLUTION

2	WHEREAS, The Communications Act of 1934 provides authority
3	for the Federal Communications Commission to make rules and
4	regulations regarding audio loudness for television; and
5	WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the United States
6	has passed H.R. 1084, the Commercial Advertisement Loudness
7	Mitigation (CALM) Act, in the 111th Congress, requiring the FCC
8	to make rules and regulations to prescribe a standard to
9	preclude commercials from being broadcast at louder volumes
10	than the program material they accompany; and
11	WHEREAS, The Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC),
12	an international, non-profit organization that develops
13	voluntary standards for digital television, has made specific
14	recommendations on establishing and maintaining audio
15	loudness; and
16	WHEREAS, Federal Communications Commission Chairman Julius
17	Genachowski has adopted many ATSC standards as FCC rules; and
18	WHEREAS, These rules will benefit the State of Illinois by
19	providing uniform regulations for all broadcasters that
20	operate in the United States; and

1 WHEREAS, These rules will make standards that create a

2 level playing field for advertisers creating content for

3 commercial broadcasts; and

WHEREAS, These standards provide for a more enjoyable aural

5 experience for the people of the State of Illinois when

6 watching commercial broadcasts; therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL

ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we encourage and

support action by the Congress of the United States to enact

legislation to require the Federal Communications Commission

to make rules precluding commercials from being broadcast at

louder volumes than their accompanying program material; and be

13 it further

8

9

10

11

12

15

16

14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be sent

to President Barack Obama, Federal Communications Commission

Chairman Julius Genachowski, and to each member of the Illinois

17 congressional delegation.