

HR0087

LRB096 10750 KXB 20939 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate Friends of the 4 Parks on the occasion of the organization's 34th Annual Meeting 5 and Awards Ceremony; and

6 WHEREAS, Friends of the Parks is a non-profit park advocacy 7 organization that works to protect, preserve and improve parks 8 and forest preserves in Chicago; it builds stronger communities 9 empowering Chicagoans to take ownership of their by 10 neighborhood parks through volunteer activities and civic 11 engagement; and

12 WHEREAS, Friends of the Parks was formed in 1975 as a 13 response to a culture of patronage and the inequitable 14 distribution of tax dollars in the Chicago Park District; it 15 now undertakes policy studies on public trust issues, develops 16 new pilot programs such as the after-school program, and 17 organizes and sponsors workshops, forums, tours, and symposia; 18 and

19 WHEREAS, Friends of the Parks provides educational and 20 technical assistance to park advisory councils and assists in 21 their efforts to improve their neighborhood park operations; it 22 attends community meetings to lend its assistance to advisory HR0087 -2- LRB096 10750 KXB 20939 r
councils; it serves as the fiscal agent for advisory councils
lacking tax-exempt status; and it provides grants to advisory
councils to encourage local enhancement projects; and

WHEREAS, Friends of the Parks organizes 10,000 volunteers annually in park cleanups, beautification and greening projects; it offers an Adopt-A-Park program; each year it organizes and sponsors the Midwest's largest Earth Day Parks Clean-Up event; and

9 WHEREAS, The 34th Annual Meeting will feature а 10 presentation by Ed Uhlir, Executive Director of Millennium 11 Park, Inc., discussing Daniel Burnham's park legacy in Chicago; 12 former Alderman Leon Despres of the Fifth Ward will present the 13 Leon Despres Lifetime Commitment to Parks Award to Cindy Mitchell, former Chicago Park District Commissioner and Board 14 15 Chair of Friends of the Parks; eight individuals and organizations will also be honored for their outstanding work 16 17 to improve and protect parks and forest preserves: State Representative Barbara Flynn Currie and Alderman Pat Dowell win 18 Legislative Awards, Augie Lehmann of Abbott Park the Individual 19 20 Award, Willye B. White Park Advisory Council the Advocacy 21 Award, REI the Corporate Award, Don Nash Park Advisory Council the Park Advisory Council Award, and Last 4 Miles Design Team 22 23 the Community Service Award; and

HR0087 -3-LRB096 10750 KXB 20939 r 1 WHEREAS, Friends of the Parks leads the fight to preserve, 2 protect, improve and promote the use of Chicago parks, forest 3 preserves, recreational areas for the benefit of all 4 neighborhoods and citizens; therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 6 7 congratulate Friends of the Parks on the occasion of the organization's 34th Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony, wish 8 9 them success in the future, and thank them for their continued 10 efforts; and be it further

11 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 12 presented to Friends of the Parks as a symbol of our respect 13 and esteem.