

HR1391 LRB095 21663 GRL 51865 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

1

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the members of the 4 Herrin High School boys track team on the occasion of winning 5 the Illinois High School Association Class A Boys Track & Field 6 2008 State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Herrin High School boys track team ended the Illinois High School Association Class A Boys Track & Field 2008 State Championship with a total score of 54, clinching their second tournament victory in 2 years; and

WHEREAS, The Herrin High School boys track team won three first place medals during the tournament; Jon Wharton, Tommie Taylor, Kent Sherrill, and Nick Thompson all took first place in the 4x100 relay finals with a time of 42.91; these young men also placed first in the 4x200 meter relay with a first place time of 1:29.37; Tommie Taylor then capped off his stellar season with a first place finish in state with a time of 10.99 in the 100 meter dash; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Herrin High School boys track team are Jon Wharton, Tommie Taylor, Kent Sherrill, Nick Thompson, Garrett Lukens, and Ethan Grounds; the coaches are Chad Lakatos, Jason Karnes, Rob Long, Dwayne Summers, Eric

- 1 Smith, Zack Cox, and Craig Baumgarte and the athletic director
- is Mike Mooneyham; therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 4 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 5 congratulate the members of the Herrin High School boys track
- 6 team on the occasion of winning the Illinois High School
- 7 Association Class A Boys Track & Field 2008 State Championship
- 8 and wish them continued success and happiness in the future;
- 9 and be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 11 presented to the Herrin High School boys track team as a symbol
- of our esteem and respect.