

HR0711 LRB094 14988 LCT 50083 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On January 26, 1986, the Chicago Bears won the National Football League's Championship Game: Super Bowl XX, against the New England Patriots, by a score of 46-10; during that 1985 season, the Chicago Bears, also known as the "Monsters of the Midway" for their ferocious "46 defense", had a regular season record of 15-1; during that regular season, the Chicago Bears defense only allowed 198 points to be scored against them, including the two shut-outs, while the Chicago offense scored over three times that, with 456 total points scored during the regular season; the 1985 playoffs and Super Bowl XX were no different, in which the Chicago Bears won by the scores of 21-0 against the New York Giants, 24-0 against the Los Angeles Rams, and the 46-10 against the New England Patriots in the Super Bowl win; and

WHEREAS, The 1985 Chicago Bears dominated the National Football League, their persona and swagger also dominated both the City of Chicago and the nation as a whole; the leaders of the 1985 Chicago Bears became household names in every home in the nation; leaders such as coaches Mike Ditka and Buddy Ryan, players Jim McMahon, Mike Singletary, Richard Dent, Dan Hampton, Kevin Butler, William "the Fridge" Perry, Willie Gault, Dave Duerson, Shaun Gayle, Gary Fencik, Steve Fuller, Wilber Marshall, Dennis McKinnon, Ron Rivera, Matt Suhey, Otis Wilson, and the team's greatest player and leader, the immortal "Sweetness", Walter Payton; and

WHEREAS, Just before their Super Bowl win, the 1985 Chicago Bears became forever engrained in the hearts and minds of every Chicagoan, Illinoisan, and Chicago Bears fan nationwide with the creation and release of the Super Bowl Shuffle; with players now identified with the nicknames of "Samurai Mike", "Punky QB", "Mama's Boy Otis", "Sackman", and, of course, "Sweetness", not only was the song well received by fans

3

4

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

1 everywhere, the song hit #41 on the Billboard charts, and sold

2 over 2 million copies; and

WHEREAS, 2005 is the 20th anniversary of what ESPN, on May 15, 2005, has determined was the greatest football team ever in the history of the National Football League by Eddie Epstein in his ESPN article "Papa Bear Would've Been Proud of the '85 Team"; the 1985 Chicago Bears have once again come together to not only to celebrate the most prolific season in Chicago Bears history, but to also help raise funds for various local charities, including the Walter & Connie Payton Foundation, the After School Matters foundation, and the Misericordia foundation; throughout the entire 2005 season, former players from the 1985 Chicago Bears will be making various appearances around the City of Chicago, and its metropolitan areas, in a joint effort to commemorate their championship season with their fans, as well as to help those who need help the most; many of their events can be viewed on their website www.85worldchamps.com; and

WHEREAS, Each and every individual player and coach of the 19 1985 Chicago Bears are to be recognized, in alphabetical order, 20 for their achievements, both on and off the field; the State of 21 Illinois recognizes the 1985 Chicago Bears players: Brad 22 Anderson (wide receiver-#86), Tom Andrews (center-#60), Brian 23 24 Baschnagel (wide receiver-#84), Kurt Becker (guard-#79), Mark 25 Bortz (guard-#62), Maury Buford (punter-#8), Kevin Butler 26 (place kicker-#6), Brian Cabral (linebacker-#54), Jim Covert 27 (offensive tackle-#74), Richard Dent (defensive end-#95), Dave 28 Duerson (safety-#22), Pat Dunsmore (tight end-#88), Gary Fencik (safety-#45), Jeff Fisher (defensive back-#24), Leslie 29 Frazier (cornerback-#21), Andy Frederick (tackle-#71), Steve 30 Fuller (quarterback-#4), Willie Gault (wide receiver-#83), 31 Shaun Gayle (defensive back-#23), Dan Hampton (defensive 32 end-#99), Mike Hartentine (defensive end-#73), Jay Hilgenberg 33 34 (center-#63), Stefan Humphries (guard-#75), Tyrone Keys

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

1 (defensive end-#98), Mitch Krenk (tight end-#89), James Maness 2 (wide receiver-#91), Ken Margerum (wide receiver-#82), Wilber 3 (linebacker-#58), Dennis McKinnon Marshall receiver-#85), Jim McMahon (quarterback-#9), Steve McMichael 4 5 (defensive tackle-#76), Emery Moorehead (tight end-#87), Jim 6 Morrissey (linebacker-#51), Keith Ortego (wide receiver-#96), Walter Payton (running back-#34), William Perry (defensive 7 tackle-#72), Reggie Phillips (cornerback-#48), Dan Rains 8 (linebacker-#53), Mike Richardson (cornerback-#27), Ron Rivera 9 10 (linebacker-#59), Thomas Sanders (running back-#20), Mike 11 Singletary (linebacker-#50), Matt Suhey (fullback-#26), Ken 12 Taylor (defensive back-#31), Tom Thayer (guard-#57), Calvin Thomas (running back-#33), Cliff Thrift (linebacker-#52), Mike 13 (quarterback-#18), Keith Van Horne (offensive Tomczak 14 tackle-#78), Henry Waechter (defensive tackle-#70), Otis 15 16 Wilson (linebacker-#55), and Tim Wrightman (tight end-#80); 17 furthermore, the State of Illinois recognizes the coaches of the 1985 Chicago Bears: Head Coach Mike Ditka, Jim Dooley 18 19 (Research and Quality control), Strength Coach Clyde Emrich, 20 Defensive Line Coach Dale Haupt, Offensive Coordinator Ed Hughes, Special Teams/Tight Ends Coach Steve Kazor, Defensive 21 Secondary Coach Jim LaRue, Receivers Coach Ted Plumb, Running 22 23 Backs Coach Johnny Roland, Defensive Coordinator Buddy Ryan, and Offensive Line Coach Dick Stanfel; therefore, be it 24

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that the 1985 Chicago Bears be recognized as the greatest football team of all time, with the realization that the entire 1985 season and Super Bowl XX victory was a complete team effort to which all persons and athletes should aspire to become; and be it further

RESOLVED, That during the twentieth anniversary of their Super Bowl XX victory, the 1985 Chicago Bears, in honor of their accomplishments on the field and their selflessness in

- 1 giving back to the community off the field, the State of
- 2 Illinois shall designate the month of November 2005 as 1985
- 3 Chicago Bears Championship Month; and be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That the 1985 National Football League
- 5 Champions, the Chicago Bears, shall be saluted and commemorated
- 6 by the 94th Illinois General Assembly by the singing of the
- 7 official tribute to the Chicago Bears, "Bear Down, Chicago
- 8 Bears", in which the lyrics are as follows:
- 9 Bear Down, Chicago Bears.
- 10 Make every play clear the way to victory!
- Bear Down, Chicago Bears.
- Put up a fight with a might so fearlessly!
- We'll never forget the way you thrilled the nation,
- With your T formation.
- Bear Down, Chicago Bears.
- And let them know why you're wearing the crown.
- 17 You're the pride and joy,
- 18 Of all Illinois.
- 19 Chicago Bears, Bear Down!; and be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be given
- 21 to each individual player of the 1985 Chicago Bears football
- team, each individual coach of the 1985 Chicago Bears football
- 23 team, and to the McCaskey family and any other representatives
- of the Chicago Bears organization.