

SR0518 LRB093 22009 HSS 50335 r

1 SENATE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Many pivotal events in South Africa's history mark 3 that country's struggle for democracy and racial equality; and In 1950 and 1952 the South African Government 4 WHEREAS, created race based policies that severely restricted access to 5 land and movement by blacks; and 6 7 WHEREAS, During the 1950s, the African National Congress 8 (ANC), formed in 1912 to bring all Africans together as one people to defend their rights and freedoms, was reenergized to 9 aggressively fight for the rights of blacks; and 10 11 WHEREAS, A mass mobilization campaign began shortly 12 thereafter in reaction to these laws, a consequence of which 13 was the creation of the Freedom Charter, based on principles of human rights and racial equality adopted in 1955 at the 14 Congress of the People in Soweto; and 15 WHEREAS, On March 21, 1960, during a rally protesting the 16 laws that restricted movement of blacks, 69 unarmed people were 17 18 killed by police officers in the Sharpeville incident; and 19 WHEREAS, In 1962, a new stage of international pressure on 20 the South African Government to change its repressive policies 21 began when the United Nations General Assembly adopted 22 Resolution 1761 which called on its members to institute 23 economic sanctions against South Africa; and

WHEREAS, Nelson Mandela, who secretly exercised his leadership in the ANC, was arrested and sentenced to five years imprisonment in 1962 for incitement; and

27 WHEREAS, Several of Mandela's senior ANC colleagues, 28 including Walter Sisulu, were arrested, and Mandela was brought

- 1 from jail to trial with his ANC colleagues resulting in
- 2 sentences of life imprisonment for Mandela and his colleagues;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, During a protest march against being taught in the
- 5 Afrikaans language in 1976, police fired on youth in Soweto,
- 6 killing 13 year old Hector Petersen and at least three others,
- 7 precipitating a massive flood of violence; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Stephen Biko, the founder of the new Black
- 9 Consciousness movement, was killed as a result of police
- 10 brutality in 1977; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In 1990, South African President F.W. de Klerk
- 12 lifted restrictions on 33 opposition groups, including the
- 13 African National Congress; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Nelson Mandela was released after 27 years of
- imprisonment on February 11, 1990; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Nelson Mandela and President F.W. de Klerk were
- jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993; and
- WHEREAS, On April 27, 1994, South Africa held its first
- democratic elections and Nelson Mandela, as the leader of the
- 20 ANC party, was elected unopposed as President of South Africa
- 21 in 1994; and
- 22 WHEREAS, During his presidential inaugural speech, which
- 23 was attended by the largest gathering of international leaders
- ever held in South Africa, Nelson Mandela called for a "time of
- 25 healing" and stated that his government would fight against
- 26 discrimination of any kind; therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-THIRD GENERAL
- 28 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we recognize and

- 1 commemorate the tenth anniversary of South Africa's first
- 2 democratic elections; and be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That we remember and honor the individuals who
- 4 contributed to and dedicated their lives to promoting and
- 5 championing democracy in South Africa, most notably Nelson
- 6 Mandela, Stephen Biko, F.W. de Klerk, Chris Hani, Helen Joseph,
- 7 Thabo Mbeki, Walter Sisulu, Joe Slovo, Helen Suzman, Oliver
- 8 Tambo, and Desmond Tutu; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That we recognize the exceptional character of
- 10 Nelson Mandela for his dedication to humanity, commitment to
- 11 democratic ideals, and continued display of tolerance and
- spirit of conciliation for the world; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That we recognize the pivotal events in South
- 14 Africa's history that mark the struggle for democracy and
- 15 racial equality; and be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be sent to the
- 17 President of the Republic of South Africa.