

SR0439 LRB093 21419 KEF 48112 r

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The political presence of African Americans in Illinois was first manifested in 1876; John W. E. Thomas of Chicago was elected to the House of Representatives as the first African American to serve in the Illinois General Assembly in that year; then in 1924, Adelbert H. Roberts became the first African American elected to the Illinois Senate; in 1958, Floy Clements became the first African-American woman elected to the State legislature; these three are considered political pioneers who paved the way for other African Americans in the Illinois General Assembly; and

WHEREAS, Fred J. Smith and Corneal A. Davis each spent 36 years in the General Assembly; as the Dean of the Senate, Dean Smith was the longest serving member of the chamber with 24 years; Mr. Davis' entire career was in the House; Harold Washington left the Senate in 1981 to serve as a member of the United State Congress; soon afterward, he was elected to serve as the first African-American Mayor of the City of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Carolyn Moseley Braun left the House of Representatives in 1988 to become the Cook County Recorder of Deeds; later, she was the first African-American woman elected to the United States Senate; in addition, Earlean Collins was the first African-American woman elected to the State Senate and the first to serve in leadership; and

WHEREAS, The late Cecil Partee was the first African American elected to serve as Senate President, and prior to that, he was Senate Minority Leader; after leaving the legislature, he served as treasurer for the City of Chicago and as the Cook County State's Attorney; the Honorable Emil Jones, is the second African American to serve as both Senate President and Senate Minority Leader; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

WHEREAS, Margaret Smith and Earlean Collins were the first African- American women to join their spouses in service to the State of Illinois; Jesse White, a former member of the Illinois House, became Cook County Recorder of Deeds in 1993, and he has subsequently been elected to two terms as the first African-American Secretary of State in Illinois; and

WHEREAS, In the current 93rd General Assembly, there are nine African-American State Senators and 19 African-American Representatives; in 1966, the late Senator Kenneth Hall of East St. Louis was the first African American to be elected to serve from outside of the city of Chicago; he was elected to the Senate in 1970; Wyvetter H. Younge, also of East St. Louis, is the senior member in the House of Representatives having served continuously since her first election in 1974; and

WHEREAS, Appreciation of diversity and unity of purpose directed toward a common agenda was realized in 1966, when Representatives Harold Washington, Louis A. H. Caldwell, Otis Collins, and Calvin L. Smith formed a study group to examine issues affecting African Americans in Illinois and to explore ways to address those issues; they realized early on that by capitalizing on the strengths of individual study groups members much could be accomplished; in that year, the study group grew to include Senators Richard H. Newhouse, Senator Charles Chew, Jr., Representative Raymond W. Ewell, and Representative Kenneth Hall; the group became a more formalized political entity in 1968, as the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus; and

WHEREAS, The Illinois Legislative Black Caucus continues to represent the interests of Illinois citizens in numerous ways; it has been particularly instrumental in assuring that the interests of African-American citizens are given equitable representation in the General Assembly and that effective responses are fashioned to address those interests; and

1 WHEREAS, Today as the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus 2 observes the culmination of Black History month in the year 3 2004, its members have also established the Illinois Legislative Black Caucus Foundation to expand the influence of 4 and serve the best interest of their diverse constituencies of 5 6 the State; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 7 8 THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we recognize the efforts of African-American Legislators and their continued role in the 9 10 history of this great State.