

HR0747 LRB093 21504 KEF 48644 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the University of 4 Illinois Fighting Illini basketball team on becoming the 5 undisputed Big Ten Conference Champions, the University of Illinois' first outright Big Ten Title since 1952; and 6 7 WHEREAS, The Fighting Illini won the Big Ten regular season 8 title in a victory over the Ohio State Buckeyes with a score of 9 64 to 63; the Fighting Illini finished the season with a record of 23 wins and 5 losses; and 10 WHEREAS, The Illini closed the regular season by winning 10 11 straight Big Ten games, including 6 straight road victories for 12 13 the first time since the 1955-56 season; and the Fighting Illini 14 WHEREAS, The head coach of 15 first-year coach Bruce Weber; he became the third Big Ten 16 basketball coach in history to win an outright league title in his first season; and 17 18 WHEREAS, The team members of the Fighting Illini are James 19 Augustine, Dee Brown, Warren Carter, Luther Head, Jerrance Howard, Jack Ingram, Rich McBride, Fred Nkemdi, Roger Powell, 20 21 Brian Randle, Nick Smith, Aaron Spears, and Deron Williams; and 22 WHEREAS, The University of Illinois Director of Athletics is Ron Guenther; the Head Coach is Bruce Weber; and Assistant 23 24 Coaches are Chris Lowery, Wayne McClain, and Jay Price; Gary Nottingham is the Assistant to the Head Coach and Al Martindale 25 26 is the trainer; therefore, be it 27 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF RESOLVED, BY THE NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 28

congratulate the team members and coaches of the Fighting

29

- 1 Illini basketball team on winning the Big Ten Conference
- 2 Championship; and be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 4 presented to each of the coaches and members of the Fighting
- 5 Illini as a token of our respect and esteem and with our best
- 6 wishes for future success as a team.