1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of
- 3 the State of Illinois are pleased to recognize outstanding
- 4 citizens of the State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, It has come to our attention that twelve senior
- 6 citizens dedicated to their community, country, and families,
- 7 have been selected as this year's Jefferson County Senior
- 8 Saints and will be honored at a banquet on June 12, 2003 in
- 9 their honor at the Mount Vernon Holiday Inn; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The recipients have exhibited benevolence,
- 11 community service, compassion and commitment to their
- 12 families, churches, country, and community throughout their
- lives and have been examples to all who know them; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The Senior Saints program started seven years
- 15 ago when local philanthropist Carl Lincoln Schweinfurth was
- 16 honored; since the program's inception, 84 Jefferson County
- 17 residents have been inducted into the Senior Saints Hall of
- 18 Fame; photos of the winners are added to the Senior Saints
- 19 Hall of Fame Wall; and
- 20 WHEREAS, This year's Senior Saints are Don Baker, Dottie
- 21 Baker, Alfred Bean, Chester Connaway, John Nelson Cowen,
- 22 Reverend Leroy Dude, Clifford Fields, Nancy Germann, Jack
- 23 Goldman, Ardell Kimmel, Wilma Kimmel, and Clara Sonsini; many
- of the honorees are veterans of the United States military
- 25 and the number of volunteer hours each recipient can claim
- 26 are countless; therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 28 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 29 we congratulate the recipients of the Jefferson County Senior
- 30 Saints Award for 2003 and thank them for their humble service
- 31 to the citizens of the State of Illinois; and be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 2 presented to each recipient of the Senior Saint Award for
- 3 2003.