1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, Boy Scout Troop 31 in Oswego was formed in
- 3 January of 1927 under the sponsorship of the PTA (Parent
- 4 Teacher Association); and
- 5 WHEREAS, The first Scoutmaster was John L. Clayton, who
- 6 was also the Superintendent of Schools in Oswego; the first
- 7 scouts that were registered were: William Brown, Howard
- 8 Clayton, John Collins, Harlan Collins, Robert Henley, Will
- 9 Lamb, Melvin Parkhurst, Franklin Pearce, Harlan Peshia,
- 10 Stanley Peterson, Allan Schlapp, Gerald Seaton, Norman
- 11 Whitney, and Merrill Wolfe; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The sponsorship of the troop continued under the
- 13 PTA and the High School until 1933 when Maurice Hachlin
- 14 became the Scoutmaster and the American Legion became the
- 15 sponsor; in 1934, Mr. Harold Manning became the Scoutmaster,
- and he continued in this role until 1937 when Mr. Norm Hulsne
- 17 assumed the role of Scoutmaster until 1939, when once again
- 18 the PTA became the sponsor, and Mr. Ford Lippold became the
- 19 Scoutmaster; in 1942, Mr. John Luttich became the Scoutmaster
- 20 and continued in this capacity until December of 1945; in
- 21 January of 1946, Mr. Richard Young (Eagle Scout) fresh from
- 22 the Marine Corps became the new Scoutmaster, a position he
- 23 held until 1950; in 1951, Mr. Lippold again became the
- 24 Scoutmaster until December of 1956; and
- WHEREAS, In January of 1957, Mr. George Akerlow became
- 26 the new Scoutmaster and the sponsorship was once again picked
- 27 up by the PTA and the High School; in 1960, Mr. Howard
- 28 Dannenburg assumed the Scoutmaster position which he held
- until 1969; in 1965, the troop had grown so much that it was
- 30 necessary for a new troop to be formed with some of the older
- 31 scouts helping to form the nucleus of boys Troop 63 under the
- 32 sponsorship of the American Legion; in 1967, the sponsorship

- of the troop was assumed by the Oswego Presbyterian Church
- and continues to the present day; in 1970, Mr. Charles Schalz
- 3 became the 12th Scoutmaster; in 1973, Mr. Del LaGow became
- 4 Scoutmaster and continued in this role until December of
- 5 1983, at that time Mr. Howard Wesley became Scoutmaster
- 6 through 1986, at which time Mr. LaGow once again became
- 7 Scoutmaster and continued until 1993; Mr. Greg Lambke became
- 8 the new Scoutmaster in 1994 and continued until 1997; in
- 9 1998, Mr. LaGow assumed the Scoutmaster position on an
- 10 interim basis, and in 1999 Mr. Neal Schilling became the
- 11 Scoutmaster and continued in this position through 2001; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Since the Troop's formation, they have averaged
- an Eagle Scout every one and one half years; in 1929, Mr.
- 14 Merrill Wolfe and Mr. Harlan Peshia became the first Eagle
- 15 Scouts in the troop; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The young men of Troop 31 have gone on to
- 17 distinguish themselves in all walks of life; there are
- 18 schoolteachers, businessmen, two United States Navy Academy
- 19 graduates, a career officer in the United States Army, a
- 20 Chief Judge of the Circuit Court, a States Attorney, a
- 21 Pharmacist, three Police Officers, an author and noted
- 22 naturalist, lawyers in environmental law and national forest
- 23 rangers; and almost 85 percent of all Scouts that have gone
- 24 through Troop 31 have gone on to higher education in some
- 25 form; therefore, be it
- 26 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 27 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 28 we commemorate 75 years of scouting in Oswego and the
- 29 contributions the scouts' of Troop 31 have made to their
- 30 community over the years; and be it further
- 31 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 32 presented to the Scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 31.