

HJ0071 LRB093 21523 HSS 48717 r

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the General Assembly of the State 3 of Illinois are pleased to recognize notable achievements in 4 college basketball in the State of Illinois; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After winning 10 straight games, with 6 of them on 6 the road, the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana 7 Fighting Illini men's basketball team claimed their first undisputed regular season Big Ten Conference Championship 9 since 1952 with a thrilling 64 to 63 win at Ohio State on March 7, 2004; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Illinois' 10-game winning streak is the longest by
 12 any Big Ten team this season; it is also Illinois' longest
 13 winning streak since the 1989-1990 season when Illinois won its
 14 first 11 games; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The Fighting Illini finished the season with a 16 record of 22 wins and 5 losses and were the top seed at the Big 17 Ten Tournament; and
- WHEREAS, Illinois earned an at-large bid to the 2004 NCAA
 Tournament and received a number 5 seed in the Atlanta Region;
 and
- 21 WHEREAS, The Fighting Illini were led through their 22 2003-2004 season by nationally distinguished Head Basketball 23 Coach Bruce Weber; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Head Basketball Coach Bruce Weber is the sixth 25 coach in the Big Ten since 1951 to defeat every other 26 conference team in his first season; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Four Fighting Illini earned All-Big Ten honors 28 this season by both the coaches and media; sophomore guard

- 1 Deron Williams earned First-Team status, sophomore guard Dee
- 2 Brown was named to the Second-Team, and sophomore center James
- 3 Augustine and junior forward Roger Powell both earned
- 4 Honorable-Mention honors; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Assistant Coaches for the 2003-2004 Fighting
- 6 Illini season are Chris Lowery, Wayne McClain, and Jay Price;
- 7 Gary Nottingham is the Assistant to the Head Coach; Al
- 8 Martindale is the trainer; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The members of the 2003-2004 Fighting Illini are
- 10 James Augustine, Dee Brown, Warren Carter, Luther Head,
- 11 Jerrance Howard, Jack Ingram, Rich McBride, Fred Nkemdi, Roger
- 12 Powell, Brian Randle, Nick Smith, Aaron Spears, and Deron
- 13 Williams; therefore, be it
- 14 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 15 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
- 16 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that we congratulate Head Basketball
- 17 Coach Bruce Weber and the University of Illinois at
- 18 Champaign-Urbana Fighting Illini men's basketball team on
- 19 being the undisputed Big Ten Conference Champions; and be it
- 20 further
- 21 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 22 presented to each of the coaches and players of the Fighting
- 23 Illini Basketball team as an expression of our esteem and with
- our best wishes for their future success.