

HR0591

LRB103 39205 ECR 69353 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Pikeland Community 4 School eighth-grade girls basketball team, the Lady Braves, on 5 the occasion of winning the 2023 Illinois Elementary School 6 Association (IESA) Class 8-3A State Girls Basketball 7 Championship; and

8 WHEREAS, The Lady Braves defeated Germantown Hills Middle 9 School 39 to 20, making the team state champions for the second 10 year in a row; and

11 WHEREAS, The Lady Braves also had their second perfect 12 season in a row, finishing 27-0 last year and 28-0 this year, 13 winning every game by at least 8 points; and

14 WHEREAS, The Lady Braves reached the state finals after 15 defeating Teutopolis Junior High School 42 to 19 and Channahon 16 Junior High School 40 to 13; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Braves coaching staff includes Head Coach Jimmy Sanderson, Assistant Coach Frank McCartney, and Assistant Coach Matt Sealock; and

20 WHEREAS, The Lady Braves include Mattelyn Burton, Lincoln

HR0591 -2- LRB103 39205 ECR 69353 r
McCartney, Reese Ramsey, Paige Willman, Bailey Hill, Natalie
Capps, Elle Sanderson, Tinley Ruzich, Libby Kearns, Kinlee
Griggs, Jaylynn Grimsley, Payton Martin, and Megan Heffington;
and

5 WHEREAS, The Lady Braves have demonstrated an exceptional 6 work ethic and a devotion to the game of basketball over the 7 course of the last two seasons; therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 9 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 10 we congratulate the Pikeland Community School eighth-grade 11 girls basketball team, the Lady Braves, on winning the 2023 12 Illinois Elementary School Class 8-3A State Girls Basketball 13 Championship, and we commend the players on their tremendous 14 season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the coaching staff and players of the Lady Braves as an expression of our esteem and respect.