

10200SR0710 Enrolled

LRB102 22870 ECR 32021 r

1 SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 710

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in 1913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of a new day of excellence and performance; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest African-American sorority; it has never changed its mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social status, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and

WHEREAS, The 2018-2022 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of International President Dr. Glenda Glover, who also serves as the first female President of her alma mater Tennessee State University in Nashville, Tennessee, continues to fulfill the service imperative of the organization's founders with the International Program "Exemplifying Excellence Through Sustainable Service"; this program concentrates on: Target #1-Historically Black Colleges and Universities-A Call for Action, Target #2-Women's Health and Wellness, Target

- 1 #3-Building Your Economic Legacy, Target #4-The Arts, and
- 2 Target #5-Global Impact; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of
- 4 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First
- 5 Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta
- 6 Scott King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late
- 7 poet Maya Angelou, the late writer Toni Morrison, singer
- 8 Alicia Keys, attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody
- 9 Hobson, comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada
- 10 Pinkett-Smith, Cook County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough,
- 11 Cook County Board of Commissioners President Toni Preckwinkle,
- 12 Vice President Kamala Harris, and the former President of
- 13 Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton and Representative
- 15 LaToya Greenwood are the newest members of Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 16 Sorority, Inc.; seasoned members of the sorority include
- 17 Majority Caucus Chair Mattie Hunter; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven
- 19 leadership and extensive involvement in the world community
- 20 through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's
- 21 potential to significantly contribute to the world community;
- 22 and

1 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made 2 history and expanded its international presence when it 3 chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle 4 East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and 5 throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives, 6 attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished

7 professionals; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we declare the date of May 12, 2022 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in the State of Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and its work; and be it further

RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to Central Regional Director Sonya L. Bowen, International President Dr. Glenda Glover, Illinois State Connection Coordinator Kimberly Irene Egonmwan, and Illinois State Connection Chair Nia Odeoti-Hassan.