

SJ0019 LRB102 12525 MST 17862 r

1 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

22

region; and

WHEREAS, Lake County is a desirable place to live because 2 3 its people and its location and hosts long-standing 4 communities that have called Lake County home for generations; 5 and 6 WHEREAS, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority has 7 found that they are not in a position to lead the exploration 8 of extending Illinois Route 53 into Lake County and into these 9 communities; and 10 WHEREAS, The communities of Lake County have been voicing 11 concerns about the type of impact that the extension would 12 have on their homes; therefore, be it 13 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL 14 OF ASSEMBLY THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THEHOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Route 53 15 Expansion Land Alternative Use Task Force is created to study 16 the following: 17 18 (1) The cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of 19 alternative uses of the expansion land, including any 20 potential impact on flooding in the area; 21 (2) The short and long term economic impact to the

7

8

9

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

- 1 (3) All options for funding alternative uses; and be 2 it further
- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the following members:
- 5 (1) The President of the Senate, or his or her 6 designee;
  - (2) The Speaker of the House, or his or her designee;
  - (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate, or his or her designee;
- 10 (4) The Minority Leader of the House, or his or her designee;
- 12 (5) The Secretary of Transportation, or his or her designee;
  - (6) The Executive Director of the Department of Natural Resources, or his or her designee;
  - (7) The Director of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, or his or her designee;
  - (8) A representative of Lake County appointed by the Chairman of the Lake County Board;
    - (9) The Chair of the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission, or his or her designee;
      - (10) The Mayor of Long Grove, or his or her designee;
- 23 (11) The Mayor of Hawthorn Woods, or his or her designee;
- 25 (12) The Mayor of Mundelein, or his or her designee;

23

24

(13) The Mayor of Grayslake, or his or her designee; 1 2 (14) A representative of a local sustainability 3 organization, nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members; representative of а local livability 6 organization, nominated by its president and appointed by 7 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members; 8 (16)Α representative of environmental an 9 organization, nominated by its president and appointed by 10 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members; 11 (17) A representative of a tourism organization, 12 nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force 13 members who are General Assembly members; 14 (18) A representative of a conservation organization, 15 nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force 16 members who are General Assembly members; and 17 (19) A representative of the Lake County Forest Preserves, nominated by its president and appointed by the 18 19 Task Force members who are General Assembly members; and 20 be it further 21 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall select a Chairperson 22 from among the members of the Task Force who serve in the

General Assembly; Task Force members shall serve without

compensation; and be it further

- RESOLVED, That the Illinois Department of Natural
  Resources shall provide administrative and other support to
  the Task Force; the Illinois Department of Transportation and
  the Illinois Tollway shall provide all information requested
  by the Task Force; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet a minimum of four times and make recommendations to the General Assembly and IDOT before December 31, 2022, and, upon the filing of its final report, the Task Force is dissolved.