1 AN ACT concerning State government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 3. The High-Speed Railway Commission Act is amended by changing Section 5 as follows:
- 6 (20 ILCS 4102/5)
- 7 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
- 8 Sec. 5. Commission created; membership.
- 9 (a) There is created the High-Speed Railway Commission to 10 carry out the duties set forth in Section 10.
- 11 (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following
 12 members:
- 13 (1) The Governor or his or her designee.
- 14 (2) The President of the Senate or his or her designee.
- 16 (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her designee.
- 18 (4) The Speaker of the House <u>of Representatives</u> or his 19 or her designee.
- 20 (5) The Minority Leader of the House <u>of</u> 21 Representatives or his or her designee.
- 22 (6) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her designee.

26

(7) The Chairperson of the Illinois State Toll Highway 1 2 Authority or his or her designee. Illinois 3 (8) The Chairperson of the Commerce Commission or his or her designee. (9) The Chairperson of the Commuter Rail Board Board of Directors of Metra or his or her designee. 6 (10) The Mayor of the City of Chicago or his or her 7 8 designee. 9 representative of a labor organization (11) A 10 representing rail workers, appointed by the Governor. 11 (12) A representative of a trade organization related 12 to the rail industry, appointed by the Governor. 13 (13) A representative of the Metropolitan Mayors and 14 Managers Association, appointed by the Governor. 15 (14) A representative from the Illinois Railroad 16 Association, appointed by the Governor. 17 (15) A representative from the University of Illinois 18 System, appointed by the Governor. 19 (16) A representative from the Chicago Metropolitan 20 Agency for Planning, appointed by the Governor. 21 (17) A representative of the Illinois Municipal 22 League, appointed by the Governor. 23 (18) A representative of the Champaign-Urbana Mass 24 Transit District, appointed by the Governor. 25 (19) A representative of the Region 1 Planning

Council, appointed by the Governor.

- 1 (20) A representative of the McLean County Regional
 2 Planning Commission, appointed by the Governor.
 - (21) A representative of the East-West Gateway Council of Governments, appointed by the Governor.
 - (c) The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission. The Vice-Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission.
 - (d) Appointments made by the Governor under subsection (b) shall be made no later than January 1, 2023 The Governor,

 President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate,

 Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall make their initial appointments to the Commission by January 1, 2022.
 - (e) Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner as provided under subsection (b) initial appointments.
 - (f) Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the bylaws of the Commission.
 - (q) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly, and hold

- 1 <u>its first meeting within 30 days after the appointment of</u>
- 2 members under subsection (d).
- 3 (h) Members of the Commission shall receive no
- 4 compensation for service as members.
- 5 (Source: P.A. 102-261, eff. 8-6-21.)
- 6 Section 5. The Local Journalism Task Force Act is amended
- 7 by changing Sections 10 and 25 as follows:
- 8 (20 ILCS 4108/10)
- 9 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
- 10 Sec. 10. Membership.
- 11 (a) The Task Force shall include the following members:
- 12 one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the
- 13 Speaker of the House of Representatives; one member of the
- 14 House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader of
- 15 the House of Representatives; one member of the Senate
- 16 appointed by the President of the Senate; one member of the
- 17 Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate; and one
- member appointed by the Governor.
- 19 <u>(b)</u> The Task Force shall also include the following
- 20 members appointed by the Governor: one representative of the
- 21 Chicago News Guild; one representative of the Chicago Chapter
- 22 of the National Association of Broadcast Employees and
- 23 Technicians-Communication Workers of America; one
- 24 representative of the Medill School of Journalism, Media,

Integrated Marketing

1

at

Northwestern

Communications

2 University; one representative of the Public Affairs Reporting Program at the University of Illinois at Springfield; one 3 4 representative of the School of Journalism at Southern 5 Illinois University Carbondale; one representative of the 6 Illinois Press Association; one representative of the Illinois Broadcasters Association; one representative of the Illinois 7 8 Legislative Correspondents Association; one representative of 9 the Illinois Public Broadcasting Council; one representative 10 of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association: one 11 representative of the University of Illinois at 12 one representative of the Chicago Urbana-Champaign; 13 Independent Media Alliance; one representative of the National Association of Black Journalists; one representative of the 14 Association of LGBTO Journalists; one representative of the 15 16 National Association of Hispanic Journalists; 17 representative of the Asian American Journalists Association; one representative of the Native American Journalists 18 19 Association; and one representative of the Illinois Municipal 20 League. 21 (c) Appointments shall be made no later than 30 days 22 following the effective date of this Act. Any additional 23 appointments made pursuant to this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly shall be made no later than 30 days following 24

the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General

26 <u>Assembly.</u>

25

- 1 (Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22; 102-671, eff. 11-30-21.)
- 2 (20 ILCS 4108/25)
- 3 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
- 4 Sec. 25. Findings and recommendations. The Task Force
- 5 shall submit its findings, along with its recommendations for
- 6 legislation, to the Governor and the General Assembly no later
- 7 than <u>July 1, 2023</u> one year after the effective date of this
- 8 Act.
- 9 (Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22.)
- 10 Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
- 11 becoming law.