

Rep. Dave Vella

16

Filed: 3/21/2022

10200SB3082ham002 LRB102 23334 DTM 37661 a 1 AMENDMENT TO SENATE BILL 3082 AMENDMENT NO. _____. Amend Senate Bill 3082 by replacing 2 everything after the enacting clause with the following: 3 "Section 3. The High-Speed Railway Commission Act is 4 5 amended by changing Section 5 as follows: (20 ILCS 4102/5) 6 7 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027) 8 Sec. 5. Commission created; membership. (a) There is created the High-Speed Railway Commission to 9 carry out the duties set forth in Section 10. 10 (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following 11 12 members: 13 (1) The Governor or his or her designee. (2) The President of the Senate or his or her 14 15 designee.

(3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her

l designee.

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2.1

22

23

24

25

26

- 2 (4) The Speaker of the House <u>of Representatives</u> or his or her designee.
 - (5) The Minority Leader of the House $\underline{\text{of}}$ Representatives or his or her designee.
 - (6) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her designee.
 - (7) The Chairperson of the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority or his or her designee.
 - (8) The Chairperson of the Illinois Commerce Commission or his or her designee.
 - (9) The Chairperson of the <u>Commuter Rail Board</u> Board of Directors of Metra or his or her designee.
 - (10) The Mayor of the City of Chicago or his or her designee.
 - (11) A representative of a labor organization representing rail workers, appointed by the Governor.
 - (12) A representative of a trade organization related to the rail industry, appointed by the Governor.
 - (13) A representative of the Metropolitan Mayors and Managers Association, appointed by the Governor.
 - (14) A representative from the Illinois Railroad Association, appointed by the Governor.
 - (15) A representative from the University of Illinois System, appointed by the Governor.
 - (16) A representative from the Chicago Metropolitan

2.1

L	Agency	for	Planning,	appointed	by	the	Governor.
---	--------	-----	-----------	-----------	----	-----	-----------

- 2 (17) A representative of the Illinois Municipal League, appointed by the Governor.
 - (18) A representative of the Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit District, appointed by the Governor.
 - (19) A representative of the Region 1 Planning Council, appointed by the Governor.
 - (20) A representative of the McLean County Regional Planning Commission, appointed by the Governor.
 - (21) A representative of the East-West Gateway Council of Governments, appointed by the Governor.
 - (c) The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission. The Vice-Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected from the Commission's membership by a simple majority vote of the total membership of the Commission.
 - (d) Appointments made by the Governor under subsection (b) shall be made no later than January 1, 2023 The Governor,

 President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate,

 Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives shall make their initial appointments to the Commission by January 1, 2022.
 - (e) Vacancies in Commission membership shall be filled in the same manner as <u>provided under subsection</u> (b) <u>initial</u> appointments.

- 1 (f) Total membership of the Commission consists of the number of members serving on the Commission, not including any 2 vacant positions. A quorum consists of a simple majority of 3 4 total membership and shall be sufficient to conduct the 5 business of the Commission, unless stipulated otherwise in the
- (g) The Commission shall meet at least quarterly, and hold 7 its first meeting within 30 days after the appointment of 8 9 members under subsection (d).
- 10 (h) Members of the Commission shall receive no 11 compensation for service as members.
- (Source: P.A. 102-261, eff. 8-6-21.) 12

bylaws of the Commission.

6

- 13 Section 5. The Local Journalism Task Force Act is amended 14 by changing Sections 10 and 25 as follows:
- (20 ILCS 4108/10) 15
- 16 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
- 17 Sec. 10. Membership.
- (a) The Task Force shall include the following members: 18 19 one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the 20 Speaker of the House of Representatives; one member of the 21 House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader of 22 the House of Representatives; one member of the Senate 23 appointed by the President of the Senate; one member of the 24 Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate; and one

1

member appointed by the Governor.

2 (b) The Task Force shall also include the following 3 members appointed by the Governor: one representative of the 4 Chicago News Guild; one representative of the Chicago Chapter 5 of the National Association of Broadcast Employees Technicians-Communication Workers of 6 America; one representative of the Medill School of Journalism, Media, 7 8 Integrated Marketing Communications at Northwestern 9 University; one representative of the Public Affairs Reporting 10 Program at the University of Illinois at Springfield; one 11 representative of the School of Journalism at Southern Illinois University Carbondale; one representative of the 12 13 Illinois Press Association; one representative of the Illinois 14 Broadcasters Association; one representative of the Illinois 15 Legislative Correspondents Association; one representative of 16 the Illinois Public Broadcasting Council; one representative 17 the Illinois News Broadcasters Association: one 18 representative of the University of Illinois 19 Urbana-Champaign; one representative of the Chicago 20 Independent Media Alliance; one representative of the National Association of Black Journalists; one representative of the 2.1 22 Association of LGBTQ Journalists; one representative of the National Association of Hispanic Journalists; 23 24 representative of the Asian American Journalists Association; 25 one representative of the Native American Journalists 26 Association; and one representative of the Illinois Municipal

- 1 League.
- 2 (c) Appointments shall be made no later than 30 days
- 3 following the effective date of this Act. Any additional
- 4 appointments made pursuant to this amendatory Act of the 102nd
- 5 General Assembly shall be made no later than 30 days following
- 6 the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General
- 7 Assembly.
- 8 (Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22; 102-671, eff. 11-30-21.)
- 9 (20 ILCS 4108/25)
- 10 (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
- 11 Sec. 25. Findings and recommendations. The Task Force
- 12 shall submit its findings, along with its recommendations for
- 13 legislation, to the Governor and the General Assembly no later
- 14 than July 1, 2023 one year after the effective date of this
- 15 Act.
- 16 (Source: P.A. 102-569, eff. 1-1-22.)
- 17 Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
- 18 becoming law.".