

HR0825 LRB102 27177 ECR 38730 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2 WHEREAS, The Delta Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa 3 Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was chartered in East St. Louis 4 on May 25, 1946 and is a chapter in the oldest Greek letter 5 organization established by African American college-trained 6 women; and

WHEREAS, The eight charter members of the Delta Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated were Beatrice Burson Miller who served as the chartering and first president of the chapter, Thelma Barnes Blackwell, Ruth Brinkley Brown, Katherine Floyd Fagen, Johnetta Randolph Haley, Evelyn Moore, Iona Fidler Reed, and Anita Mae Wallace; and

WHEREAS, These professional women served the Metro-East community as empowered leaders and with a commitment to serve youth and adults on the local and global scale; and

WHEREAS, These women prided themselves in fostering a bond that kept the foundation of sisterliness and service at the forefront of every program and activity they presented to the community; and

21 WHEREAS, Since the inception of its chartering, the Delta

18

19

20

21

22

23

- 1 Delta Omega Chapter has remained committed to meeting the
- 2 needs of the community through a variety of successful
- 3 service, educational, leadership, health, mentorship,
- 4 cultural, and environmental programs with excellence and
- 5 sustainability; and

Amanda N. Brinson; and

- 6 WHEREAS, During its history, 40 women have served as 7 president of the chapter, including Beatrice Burson Miller, Ruth Brinkley Brown, Iona Fidler Reed, Evelyn Moore, Thelma 8 9 Blackwell, Katie Barbee Walker, Bessie Hairston West, Willa 10 Irene Green, Eartha Perryman, Susie Haire Mann, Patricia Dancy 11 Kelly, Marcella Donald, Mary Wrenn, Lena Weathers, Peggy Lewis LeCompte, Dianna Logan, Vivian Nichols, Sheryl Clayton, Lora 12 13 Jones, Marjorie Preston, Katrina Thomas, Cathryn Mason, 14 Louella Lewis Hawkins, Luereatha Griffin, Luvenia Long, Burena 15 Howard, Gail McClellan, Helen Jones, Juanita Brown, Alice 16 Aldridge, Donna Bender, Lola Key, Kathy Walker Steele, Doris Stewart, Gwendolyn Childs, Courtney Robinson, Nakia Nichelle 17
 - WHEREAS, The influence and historical significance of the extraordinary eight charter members and the impact they made on the leaders who followed them shall remain with us always; therefore, be it

Daniels, Taumosa Straughter Brooks, Vernesser Streater, and

6

7

8

9

1 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
2 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
3 we recognize the contributions and exemplary character of the
4 eight charter members of the Delta Delta Omega Chapter of
5 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to the Delta Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated as a symbol of our esteem and respect.