

HR0539 LRB102 21184 MST 30225 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

21

WHEREAS, The U.S. Congress passed a law that transferred the requirement of the railroads to operate passenger trains to the federally-owned National Railroad Passenger Corporation in 1970; and

WHEREAS, When the U.S. Department of Transportation drew maps defining where these Amtrak trains would go, they did not include local service in Illinois between Quincy and Chicago, which included Macomb, Galesburg, Kewanee, Princeton, Mendota, Plano, and the Chicago suburbs, and the service ended on May 11, 1971; and

WHEREAS, When interested parties in Macomb and Quincy lost their fight against the law in federal court, they then asked the State of Illinois to sponsor the service, worked with communities along the route, and convinced the Illinois General Assembly and Governor to sponsor daily local Amtrak service under the Illinois Department of Transportation; and

WHEREAS, The morning eastbound and evening westbound
Illinois Zephyr trains have operated since November 4, 1971;
and

WHEREAS, This region of Illinois has benefited from being

- 1 the longest continuously operated state-supported train in the
- 2 Amtrak network for 50 years; and
- 3 WHEREAS, These same communities banded together to create
- 4 the Amtrak Carl Sandberg train in 2006, with departures
- 5 westbound in the morning and eastbound in the evening,
- 6 doubling local service on the route; this route is marking its
- 7 15th anniversary this year; therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 9 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 10 we congratulate these communities on the work in 1971 and
- again in 2006 that resulted in this region of Illinois having
- 12 vital passenger train connections to and from Chicago and
- 13 cities in Western and North-Central Illinois; and be it
- 14 further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 16 presented to the mayors of Quincy, Macomb, Galesburg, Kewanee,
- 17 Princeton, Mendota, Plano, Naperville, and LaGrange.