

HJ0006

LRB102 10503 MST 15832 r

1

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Lake County is a desirable place to live because 3 of its people and its location and hosts long-standing 4 communities that have called Lake County home for generations; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority has 7 found that they are not in a position to lead the exploration 8 of extending Illinois Route 53 into Lake County and into these 9 communities; and

10 WHEREAS, The communities of Lake County have been voicing 11 concerns about the type of impact that the extension would 12 have on their homes; therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 14 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE 15 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Route 53 Expansion 16 Land Alternative Use Task Force is created to study the 17 following:

(1) The cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of
 alternative uses of the expansion land, including any
 potential impact on flooding in the area;

(2) The short and long term economic impact to theregion; and

HJ0006 -2-LRB102 10503 MST 15832 r (3) All options for funding alternative uses; and be 1 2 it further 3 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the following members: 4 5 (1)The President of the Senate, or his or her 6 designee; (2) The Speaker of the House, or his or her designee; 7 (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate, or his or her 8 9 designee; (4) The Minority Leader of the House, or his or her 10 11 designee; 12 (5) The Secretary of Transportation, or his or her 13 designee; 14 (6) The Executive Director of the Department of 15 Natural Resources, or his or her designee; 16 The Director of the Illinois Environmental (7) Protection Agency, or his or her designee; 17 (8) A representative of Lake County appointed by the 18 19 Chairman of the Lake County Board; 20 (9) The Chair of the Lake County Stormwater Management 21 Commission, or his or her designee; 22 (10) The Mayor of Long Grove, or his or her designee; (11) The Mayor of Hawthorn Woods, or his or her 23 24 designee; 25 (12) The Mayor of Mundelein, or his or her designee;

-3- LRB102 10503 MST 15832 r

1

2

3

4

HJ0006

(13) The Mayor of Grayslake, or his or her designee;
 (14) A representative of a local sustainability organization, nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

5 (15) A representative of a local livability 6 organization, nominated by its president and appointed by 7 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

8 (16) A representative of an environmental 9 organization, nominated by its president and appointed by 10 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

11 (17) A representative of a tourism organization, 12 nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force 13 members who are General Assembly members;

(18) A representative of a conservation organization,
nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force
members who are General Assembly members; and

17 (19) A representative of the Lake County Forest 18 Preserves, nominated by its president and appointed by the 19 Task Force members who are General Assembly members; and 20 be it further

21 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall select a Chairperson 22 from among the members of the Task Force who serve in the 23 General Assembly; Task Force members shall serve without 24 compensation; and be it further HJ0006 -4- LRB102 10503 MST 15832 r 1 RESOLVED, That the Illinois Department of Natural 2 Resources shall provide administrative and other support to 3 the Task Force; the Illinois Department of Transportation and 4 the Illinois Tollway shall provide all information requested 5 by the Task Force; and be it further

6 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet a minimum of four 7 times and make recommendations to the General Assembly and 8 IDOT before December 31, 2022, and, upon the filing of its 9 final report, the Task Force is dissolved.