

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2021 and 2022 HB4910

Introduced 1/27/2022, by Rep. Jim Durkin

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

705 ILCS 35/1

from Ch. 37, par. 72.1

Amends the Circuit Courts Act. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the judicial circuits.

LRB102 25616 RJF 34908 b

3

1 AN ACT concerning courts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 2 represented in the General Assembly:

- 4 Section 5. The Circuit Courts Act is amended by changing
- 5 Section 1 as follows:
- 6 (705 ILCS 35/1) (from Ch. 37, par. 72.1)
- 7 Sec. 1. Judicial circuits created. The The county of Cook
- shall be one judicial circuit and the State of Illinois, 8
- 9 exclusive of the county of Cook, shall be and is divided into
- judicial circuits as follows: 10
- First Circuit--The counties of Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, 11
- 12 Pope, Johnson, Union, Jackson, Williamson and Saline.
- Second Circuit -- The counties of Hardin, Gallatin, White, 13
- 14 Hamilton, Franklin, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne, Jefferson,
- Richland, Lawrence and Crawford. 15
- Third Circuit -- The counties of Madison and Bond. 16
- Fourth Circuit--The counties of Clinton, Marion, Clay, 17
- Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Montgomery, Shelby, and Christian. 18
- 19 Fifth Circuit--The counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Clark,
- 20 Cumberland and Coles.
- 21 Sixth Circuit--The counties of Champaign, Douglas,
- Moultrie, Macon, DeWitt, and Piatt. 22
- Seventh Circuit--The counties of Sangamon, Macoupin, 2.3

- 1 Morgan, Scott, Greene, and Jersey.
- 2 Eighth Circuit--The counties of Adams, Schuyler, Mason,
- 3 Cass, Brown, Pike, Calhoun, and Menard.
- 4 Ninth Circuit--The counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson,
- 5 Hancock, McDonough, and Fulton.
- 6 Tenth Circuit--The counties of Peoria, Marshall, Putnam,
- 7 Stark, and Tazewell.
- 8 Eleventh Circuit--The counties of McLean, Livingston,
- 9 Logan, Ford, and Woodford.
- 10 Twelfth Circuit--The county of Will.
- 11 Thirteenth Circuit--The counties of Bureau, LaSalle, and
- 12 Grundy.
- 13 Fourteenth Circuit--The counties of Rock Island, Mercer,
- Whiteside, and Henry.
- 15 Fifteenth Circuit--The counties of Jo Daviess, Stephenson,
- 16 Carroll, Ogle, and Lee.
- 17 Sixteenth Circuit--The county of Kane.
- 18 Seventeenth Circuit--The counties of Winnebago and Boone.
- 19 Eighteenth Circuit--The county of DuPage.
- Nineteenth Circuit--The county of Lake.
- 21 Twentieth Circuit--Before December 5, 2022, the counties
- of Randolph, Monroe, St. Clair, Washington, and Perry. On and
- after December 5, 2022, the county of St. Clair.
- 24 Twenty-first Circuit--The counties of Iroquois and
- 25 Kankakee.
- Twenty-second Circuit--The county of McHenry.

- 1 Twenty-third Circuit--The counties of DeKalb and Kendall.
- 2 Twenty-fourth Circuit--On and after December 5, 2022, the
- 3 counties of Randolph, Monroe, Washington, and Perry.
- 4 (Source: P.A. 102-380, eff. 8-13-21.)