Rep. Lakesia Collins

Filed: 3/22/2021





10200HB0690ham001LRB102 11795 SPS 23857 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 690 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Illinois Dental Practice Act is amended by
5changing Section 19.2 as follows:
6    (225 ILCS 25/19.2)
7    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
8    Sec. 19.2. Temporary permits permit for free dental care.
9    (a) The Department shall may issue a temporary permit
10authorizing the practice in this State, without compensation,
11of dentistry or dental hygiene to an applicant who is licensed
12to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in another state and
13who will be practicing in this State for a limited period of
14time either (i) to provide free dental care benefiting the
15welfare of Illinois residents or (ii) as part of an education
16and training program under the supervision of an Illinois



10200HB0690ham001- 2 -LRB102 11795 SPS 23857 a

1licensed dentist, when the , if all of the following apply: (1)
2The Department determines that the applicant's services will
3improve the welfare of Illinois residents. (2) The Department
4determines that the applicant is qualified and satisfies the
5criteria specified under Sections 9 and 13 of this Act, except
6for the examination requirement.
7    (b) The Department may not require the applicant to pass
8an examination as provided in subsection (e) of Section 9 of
9this Act in order to receive a temporary permit under this
10Section. The Department may require an applicant to pay a fee
11for the issuance or renewal of a permit under this Section.
12    (c) A temporary permit under this Section shall authorize
13the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene in a specified
14area of the State:
15        (1) for applicants providing free dental care
16    benefiting the welfare of Illinois residents, for a period
17    of time not to exceed 10 consecutive days in a year, which
18    and may be renewed by the Department;
19        (2) for applicants attending education and training
20    programs in this State that include dental care for
21    Illinois residents under the supervision of an Illinois
22    licensed dentist, for the reasonable length of the
23    education and training programs. The Department may
24    require an applicant to pay a fee for the issuance or
25    renewal of a permit under this Section.
26    (d) The Secretary may summarily terminate any permit



10200HB0690ham001- 3 -LRB102 11795 SPS 23857 a

1issued pursuant to this Section, without a hearing, if the
2Secretary finds that evidence in his or her possession
3indicates that an individual permit holder's continuation in
4practice would constitute an imminent danger to the public. In
5the event that the Secretary summarily suspends a permit
6issued pursuant to this Section, the permit holder may
7petition the Department for a hearing in accordance with the
8provisions of this Act to reinstate his or her permit.
9    In addition to terminating any permit issued pursuant to
10this Section, the Department may issue a monetary penalty not
11to exceed $1,000 upon the permit holder and may notify any
12state in which the permit holder has been issued a license that
13his or her Illinois permit has been terminated and the reasons
14for the termination. The monetary penalty shall be paid within
1560 days after the effective date of the order imposing the
16penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be
17filed and execution had thereon in the same manner as any
18judgment from any court of record. It is the intent of the
19General Assembly that a permit issued pursuant to this Section
20shall be considered a privilege and not a property right.
21(Source: P.A. 96-1222, eff. 7-23-10.)".