

HR0230 LRB101 11767 ALS 58506 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Belleville West High 4 School Boys Basketball Team, the Maroons, on winning the 2019 5 Class 4A State Basketball Championship on March 16, 2019; and 6 WHEREAS, The Maroons were victorious over the Evanston 7 Wildkits by a score of 71 to 59; and 8 WHEREAS, The Maroons finished their season with a record of 9 34 wins and four losses and are the only team to achieve 10 victory with consecutive 4A titles since the Chicago Simeon Wolverines did from 2010 to 2013; and 11 12 WHEREAS, This state victory showcased the talent, 13 determination, and camaraderie of all members of the Maroons; 14 and 15 WHEREAS, All members of the Maroons should be congratulated for their victory over the Wildkits; and 16 17 WHEREAS, Coaches Joe Muniz, Alex Schobert, Chuck Lugge, Doug Schieppe, Jesse Swift, Roger Mueller, and Buddy Dye should 18 19 congratulated for their commitment and dedication, 20 preparing the Maroons for a state championship; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The Maroons are Lawrence Brazil III, Tommie
- 2 Williams, William Schumpert, Camden Seals, Marcellus Romious,
- 3 Keli'i Price, Donte Wright, Keith Randolph, Cameron Clark,
- 4 Jaylin Mosby, and EJ Liddell; therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 6 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 7 we congratulate the Belleville West High School Boys Basketball
- 8 Team, the Maroons, on winning the 2019 Class 4A State
- 9 Basketball Championship, and we wish them many more successful
- 10 seasons; and be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 12 presented to each member of the Maroons Boys Basketball Team
- and to each member of their coaching staff as a symbol of our
- 14 sincerest respect and highest esteem.