State of Illinois
2017 and 2018


Introduced 2/15/2018, by Sen. Karen McConnaughay


615 ILCS 15/8.5 new

    Amends the Flood Control Act of 1945. Creates the Flood Control Commission. Provides that the Commission shall study current flood control practices within the counties of DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will. Adds provisions concerning the membership and duties of the Commission. Provides that the Commission shall conduct a survey of the 5 counties and submit a report of the survey, including specific information, to the General Assembly by December 31, 2019. Repeals the new provisions on January 1, 2021.

LRB100 19802 LNS 35078 b





SB3134LRB100 19802 LNS 35078 b

1    AN ACT concerning flood control.
2    Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4    Section 5. The Flood Control Act of 1945 is amended by
5adding Section 8.5 as follows:
6    (615 ILCS 15/8.5 new)
7    Sec. 8.5. Flood Control Commission.
8    (a) The Flood Control Commission is created to study
9current flood control practices along the natural and
10artificial waterways within DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and
11Will County. The goal of the Commission is to mitigate future
12flooding events and prevent property damage and threats to
13public health.
14    (b) The Commission shall consist of the following members:
15        (1) 5 members appointed by the President of the Senate;
16        (2) 5 members appointed by the Minority Leader of the
17    Senate;
18        (3) 5 members appointed by the Speaker of the House of
19    Representatives;
20        (4) 5 members appointed by the Minority Leader of the
21    House of Representatives;
22        (5) one member from the DuPage County Stormwater
23    Management Planning Committee;



SB3134- 2 -LRB100 19802 LNS 35078 b

1        (6) one member from the Kane County Stormwater
2    Management Planning Committee;
3        (7) one member from the Lake County Stormwater
4    Management Planning Committee;
5        (8) one member from the McHenry County Stormwater
6    Management Planning Committee;
7        (9) one member from the Will County Stormwater
8    Management Planning Committee;
9        (10) one member from a municipality in each of the
10    following counties: (i) DuPage County; (ii) Kane County;
11    (iii) Lake County; (iv) McHenry County; and (v) Will
12    County;
13        (11) the Director of Natural Resources or his or her
14    designee; and
15        (12) the Governor or his or her designee.
16    (c) The Commission shall catalog current shortfalls in
17existing flood control practices. The Commission shall make
18suggestions for the improvement of such practices, including,
19but not limited to, the expenditure of State funds to improve
20current infrastructure.
21    (d) The Commission shall conduct a survey and submit a
22report of the survey to the General Assembly by December 31,
232019. The report shall include, but is not limited to, the
24following information:
25        (1) the extent and character of the areas affected;
26        (2) the hydrology of the area affected, including



SB3134- 3 -LRB100 19802 LNS 35078 b

1    rainfall and run-off, frequency and severity of floods, and
2    frequency and degree of low-flows;
3        (3) flood damages to rural property, growing crops,
4    urban property, industrial property, and communications,
5    including highways, railways, and waterways;
6        (4) the probable effect upon any navigable water or
7    waterway;
8        (5) the possible economic development and utilization
9    of water power;
10        (6) the possible economic reclamation and drainage of
11    the bottomland and upland areas;
12        (7) any other allied uses that may be properly related
13    to or coordinated with the project, including, but not
14    limited to, any benefits for the public water supply uses,
15    public recreation uses, or wildlife conservation; and
16        (8) the estimated cost of the improvement and a
17    statement of special or local benefit that will accrue to
18    localities affected by the improvement and a statement of
19    general or statewide benefits, with recommendations as to
20    what local cooperation, participation, and cost sharing
21    shall be required, if any, on account of the special or
22    local benefit.
23    (e) The Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning shall
24provide information to the Commission upon request.
25    (f) The Department of Natural Resources shall provide
26administrative support to the Commission.



SB3134- 4 -LRB100 19802 LNS 35078 b

1    (g) This Section is repealed on January 1, 2021.