

HR1291 LRB100 24214 MST 43434 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, Young men have played football at Northwestern 3 University since 1876; and
- WHEREAS, The Northwestern Wildcats have been charter
 members of the Big Ten Athletic Conference since 1896, and
 during much of this time, their football team has been a
 powerhouse in the league; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Northwestern Wildcats were Big Ten Athletic 9 Conference champions in 1936 and 1995 and have shared 10 conference championships in six additional seasons, 1903, 11 1926, 1930, 1931, 1996, and 2000; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In the 2018 football campaign, with a victory over
 13 the University of Iowa and an overall record of 6-1 in the Big
 14 Ten, the Northwestern Wildcats won the West Division and
 15 clinched a place in the 2018 Big Ten Football Championship
 16 Game; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The 2018 Big Ten Football Championship game will 18 be played on Saturday, December 1 in Indianapolis, where the 19 winner will receive the Amos Alonso Stagg Championship Trophy 20 and a chance to play in one of the six bowls that comprise the 21 College Football Playoff; therefore, be it

- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
 congratulate the 2018 Northwestern Wildcats football squad,
 its coaching staff, and its Head Coach Pat Fitzgerald, for
 their great achievement in the 2018 regular football season;
 and be it further
- RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to Head Coach Pat Fitzgerald as a symbol of our esteem and respect.